This thread is privately moderated by Matthew Duncan, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
May 31, 2017, 01:17 PM
A disaster waiting to happen
Thread OP
Discussion

Frsky telemetry

I have just received the MLVSS sensor for the Frsky smartport telemetry system and the whole idea has intrigued me. As I'm not very experienced, this is my first telemetry apart for RSSI from the relieved itself.
There isn't really a big limit on what telemetry you have because of the ability to piggy back multiple sensors on each other (unless you use too many channels or the current draw gets too high) I'm not actually sure of the limit.
This has given me the great ability of the telemetry and I have learnt allot about using plants. Before, I didn't know how to set many hints on a switch, but now, I have RSSI on the middle of SC, voltage on the momentary SH and radio voltage on SG.
to remove ads between posts
May 31, 2017, 01:39 PM
Thread OP

Switches

I have been fiddling with the settings and have moved the switches, RSSI stays at SC, lipo voltage moves to SD, and the timer is on SG. This is because I fly a pinch/thumbs hybrid so my middle finger sits right over SD so I have more easy access to the telemetry systems instead of having to reach back for the rear SH momentary switch.
May 31, 2017, 02:17 PM
Puting telemetry on physical switches is handy for testing but I usually put them on a logical switch so that they just announced themselves when they go bellow a certain level which I set,
Logical switches are a REALLY useful part of opentx ,
But there is lots to learn and it all takes time.
Dec 26, 2017, 05:39 AM
Thread OP
I have found that my voltage readouts on the switches don't give a decimal place just something like "11 volts" rather than using a decimal (which the logical switches do) it's relatively anoying as I like to know what voltage I'm at during the flight,but I have to look down at the telemetry screen to do that.

An fpv osd would be useful.