May 19, 2017, 02:05 PM
Help!

Help me with what to buy!

I am planning to build a small-medium plane made out of foam that apparently is easy to make but I have never done anything like this before. I have searched around a bit on HobbyKing to find the electric parts for a scratch build and there is a picture of the wishlist in this post. I added two different motors since I wasn't sure which I should use. Please tell me what you think and what parts I should replace, any help is appreciated!
to remove ads between posts
May 19, 2017, 02:58 PM
Hot glue held together by foam
Where in the world do you live ? USA , Europe , Australia ?
Have you flown an RC plane before ?
If not , will you have the assistance of an experienced RC flyer ?
How big is your flying area ?
May 19, 2017, 03:32 PM
Drone offender FA377YHFNC
You don't say anything about what plane you're going to fly. So realize that some advice can't be too specific.

On the radio you've specified a Mode 1 radio. Different parts of the world fly different modes. If you aren't rock solid about doing what everyone else does, you'll find yourself in a position where if you want flying help, nobody but you will be able to fly the plane. Don't make a mistake on what mode you buy.

You apparently are looking to fly on less than 20 W of power but have a big heavy 2600mAh battery. You'd be much better served going with 1000mAh to 1300mAh battery. If you really find you WANT 2600mAh just hook two 1300s together in parallel.

I've had great luck buying HK's Plush ESCs. I don't know about the one you ordered. Make sure that the motor you eventually use will swing the prop you bought at a suitable RPM and draw a certain number of amps. Then buy your speed controller with the ability to handle 1/3 more amps than you'll need. Guessing on motor/prop/ESC combinations makes for some flamy stuff coming out of various components.

The HK15178 servos are awesome. I've used them five years in my Slow Stick without a glitch.