May 17, 2017, 12:21 AM
Help!

Improving Gliding

So I'm a beginner who has scratch built a foamie and flown it a couple of times.
I have thought of two ways of improving glide time but not sure whether it would work.

1.Parachute on wings
A stretched sheet on top of the wing which can be released to act as parachutes.
Would the plane stall and go down straight?

2.Extra Wingspan
Create a cavity inside the wing and add a secondary wing which can be pushed out using a channel at will?

Has anyone tried anything similar to this?
to remove ads between posts
May 17, 2017, 02:00 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by leo271
So I'm a beginner who has scratch built a foamie and flown it a couple of times.
I have thought of two ways of improving glide time but not sure whether it would work.

1.Parachute on wings
A stretched sheet on top of the wing which can be released to act as parachutes.
Would the plane stall and go down straight?

2.Extra Wingspan
Create a cavity inside the wing and add a secondary wing which can be pushed out using a channel at will?

Has anyone tried anything similar to this?
Maybe 2, not 1. You talked about "improving glide time", yet in 1) you asked "would the plane stall and go down straight?" Well, probably much more the case than it would make the plane glide more. So this option is "NO this won't work".

2: I believe people have actually done something like this, except it does not involve a cavity inside the wing, with a secondary wing. It is building a swing wing similar to F14, F111, etc., which has less lift and drag when tucked in, and more lift and drag when extended. This actually is proven technology; and I have even seen it work on a model plane. Which was build by a beginner who had never flown. The maiden was done by a highly skilled person, and his comments were "it flies well".

Regards
May 17, 2017, 05:04 AM
An itch?. Scratch build.
Assuming you mean with power off.