This thread is privately moderated by krachall, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
May 16, 2017, 09:10 AM
Mini-Review

AKK FPV gear review - VTX, Camera, and Antenna

(NOTE: The Amazon links below are NOT affiliate links. I'm not getting any money from these reviews!)

Anyone who's ever participated in a (relatively) expensive hobby or sport has heard the phrase "Good, Fast, Cheap: pick two." In fact, I had a sign on my office wall with those exact words when I was an entry level engineer many decades ago. While intentionally smarmy, there is a lot of truth to the saying. Want something fast? Fine, well it's either going to be poor quality or outrageously expensive. Want something low cost? Sure, but it's going to either take a REALLY long time or it's going to be poor quality...you get the point.

AKK, currently selling FPV gear on Amazon and Aliexpress, is proving that phrase wrong.

I recently reviewed their Micro AIO FPV camera after find it to be super light (3.6g), super cheap (under $21), and, best of all, it's available on Amazon Prime.

I've had that cam on my Tiny Whoop for a few weeks now and it's been flawless. I like it so much that I gave some of their other gear a shot. As you'll read below, it's good, fast, and cheap...what's not to like?

Enter the beater quad. This is my rig that I use for testing new parts. It's got the same motors and ESCs as my main quad but they're attached to a $20 clone frame and uses a $20 F3 flight controller. It's a frame I'm not afraid to crash...repeatedly... if some of these parts fail. Fortunately, nothing of the sort happened.

I disassembled the Beater Quad and installed:

AKK 600TVL 2.8MM 120 Degree High Picture Quality Sony CCD Camera
AKK K31P 5.8GHz 40Ch 600MW 5V Out for Cam Mini FPV AV Transmitter
and
AKK LR1 5.8GHz FPV 5DBi High Gain SMA Male Circular Polarized Four Leaf Clover Antenna

Let's start from the front and work our way back.

FPV Camera: