May 10, 2017, 12:37 PM
Discussion

Difference about V5 vs V6...Dragon Force RG65

Someone would know what the differences are V5 vs V6 ..... Thanks in advance
to remove ads between posts
May 10, 2017, 04:12 PM
DragonForce 65 Version 6 Debut Feb 2017 (27 min 5 sec)

As I understand it the biggest benefit is the Mylar Sails. There is a new hull and deck design to eliminate seam roughness, and a new servo tray. The hull shape does not offer a competitive advantage.
May 10, 2017, 05:33 PM
DF65/No Excuses, Just Sailing!
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudell
Someone would know what the differences are V5 vs V6 ..... Thanks in advance
Also upgraded radio, and improved assembly instructions are nice for the newer skippers
May 10, 2017, 07:21 PM
Steve Landeau IOM USA 21
I don't have both in front of me, and I'm new to the class, but from what I have read, the only performance advantage would be the sails, and that was open to be replaced if desired anyway.
There are some fittings that are better designed, more robust, a longer lasting plastic hull, etc, but nothing that will render any older version to be non-competitive in any way.
May 10, 2017, 09:28 PM
Good to hear that people say there is no performance difference. It would be great to see some on the water long term comparisons so the question could be put to bed.
May 11, 2017, 01:21 AM
The v5s in our club regularly beat the V6

But that may be the sailor rather than the boat.
May 11, 2017, 10:10 AM
And I just heard that in another UK club a mid pack V4 sailor has moved to the front of the fleet with his V6. Would be great to get more results and reports.
May 11, 2017, 01:11 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Corbett
And I just heard that in another UK club a mid pack V4 sailor has moved to the front of the fleet with his V6. Would be great to get more results and reports.

Im glad to hear you are taking such an extreme interest in the DF65 Roy.