FrSky S6R Rx self-check question - RC Groups
May 03, 2017, 07:12 AM
Discussion

FrSky S6R Rx self-check question

I'm a newbie with the FrSky S6R Rx. I'm not clear as to what the self-check procedure is for.

To explain this a little bit further, I tried to set up a model with Ail1 and Ail2. I found Ail2 wouldn't respond to stick movement but Ail1 would. After checking a few threads here, I found that I should initiate a self-check. I did and it worked; the 2nd aileron is now working.

So now, lol, I realize I really don't understand what the self-check mode is for. I thought the Rx got its orientation each time the plane is turned on. In other words, the plane should be kept still in its normal flying attitude when it's turned on. After a few seconds, it is booted and has its orientation. And if this is the case, then what is the self-check for? Is this something that should be initiated before each flight? Or, just once after installation into a model? Or, just after flashing firmware? Could someone explain the difference between initiating a self-check vs. just turning on the plane before a flight?

Thanks in advance!
to remove ads between posts
May 03, 2017, 07:50 AM
Self check is to learn the max servo throws AND to learn the horizontal position (calibration). You normally do this once unless you change servo throws or the plane does not keep the correct attitude during auto level mode.
May 03, 2017, 09:07 PM
Thanks Tadango. Do you happen to know what takes place when the Rx is just turned on, such as before a flight? Isn't the plane supposed to be held level (normal flying attitude) for a short period of time?
May 04, 2017, 12:43 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottand1000
Thanks Tadango. Do you happen to know what takes place when the Rx is just turned on, such as before a flight? Isn't the plane supposed to be held level (normal flying attitude) for a short period of time?