Apr 25, 2017, 06:39 PM
Staying away from trees..
Thread OP
Discussion

Getting back into RC - Going to build a 3D printed drone

Hey guys. It's been a long time since I posted on here last. I got into RC flying about 10-12 years ago as I was getting out of high school and starting college. I was pretty gung-ho about it for a couple years, sticking to electric parkfliers.

I graduated college, moved to a new state, got married, had kids, that whole deal... in haven't flown anything for about 8 years other then an indoor toy RC helicopter that is fun to zoom around the house with from time to time.

I built myself a 3D printer last fall, and a recent dfiscovery of drone photography videos on YouTube had sparked a desire in me to build my own drone.

I know there is a lot to learn. I started printing myself a MHQ2 quadcopter last night, and will figure out where to go from there. Should be fun. Not planning on doing areal photography or fpv with this, it's just going to be something to tinker with and learn to fly quads on.

I've got an old JR 72mhz 4 channel transmitter. I don't even know of it is worth trying to use that or not. I never made the jump to 2.4Ghz back before I stopped flying. Spektrum was just starting to hit the market back then, and was pretty expensive.

Any suggestions on hardware for an inexpensive starter setup on the 250 sized platform would be helpful. I'm not looking for crazy speed or performance. Just something nice and stable and controllable.

Just for fun, here is a picture of a couple of the arms printing:
to remove ads between posts
Apr 25, 2017, 09:59 PM