Apr 19, 2017, 11:07 AM
Discussion

Help build first racer please! New to hobby and getting my kids into it.

Hello all. Like the title states I'm a noob and get confused between all the electronics that support "this" or "that" and are compatible with "this" or "that". I do however understand most of what the basic parts do since I've been trying to research over the past month or so when have the extra time.

I bought a Connex Falcore for the children to get accustomed to the controls and I personally like the size of it so would like to build an Alien 5/6" Butter Kwad with all top of the line products. I don't mind spending any extra money for something that will help the quad perform consistently. Consistency is my main goal other than noise free electronics working in unison with one another.

Since I'm a noob I don't have a brand loyalty; although, I do have a Spektrum dx8 which I hate so am thinking about the TBS radio or a Futaba that accepts modules. The Taranis is slightly intimidating to me right now but could possibly get past that. And, the Turnigy Evolution is on my list since it is more of a thumber oriented transmitter which will work well for the kids with its smaller size. I will need 3-4 transmitters anyway so could just get one of each even though that kind of spreads out the rx options which would force me to use the transmitter dedicated to that setup if the transmitter doesn't accept a module.

I've read that the newer Spektrum modules aren't that great and have throttle issues so may need to just pony up the cash for one new dedicated Spektrum radio for Horizon Hobby/Spektrum quads, helis, and planes since I already have a Trainer plane and a few helis along with an Inductrix which my DX8 will not bind to. I'm just ready to throw it out the window honestly.