Mar 27, 2017, 09:25 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

Build for upcoming SMALL event (Now building Bokkie Mk II)

Running a little short on time at this point, but I'm hoping to put together a 1/2A House of Balsa P51. Looks like I might have snagged one of the last kits around ---> http://www.activepowersports.com/kits-scale-0-19/

Looks like my order is processing ok and hopefully I won't get a backorder status from them. I also ordered a new in box throttled Norvel .061 for the plane off eBay which hopefully will make for a sweet and fun little combo.

Question about SMALL for anyone who has been before... would that plane and engine be sort of typical of what people bring out? I saw some pics of past events but I think I only saw Cox engines! I loved my Cox's back in the 70's and 80's but now the Norvels seem to be altogether better with their proper mufflers and throttles.

Also I'm not a real proficient pilot, but I take it SMALL is a fun-fly and not really a competition type of event? I wouldn't want to go and just find myself in the way of the real pilots, but if it's mostly about making laps around the field I can definitely handle that.

And another thing, I have a New Era III just about finished up with a .25 on the nose. I guess up to .25 is welcome but would that plane be sort of out of place there? Might be fun to bring more than one plane and the mini pattern plane might be sort of interesting since it is a classic non-arf plane.

Would appreciate any feedback before I whip myself into "serious mode" to get my stuff ready in time and drive 5-1/2 hours to the event.
Last edited by TexasWade; Mar 30, 2017 at 09:25 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Mar 27, 2017, 09:47 PM
Barnwell, SC
You will see Cox, Norvel, OS, PAW, OK, and others. the only competition is to see who has the most fun. Great bunch of guys (even the Texans). Please come and look up TLAR Engineering bunch otherwise known as the Mammoth Spring Mafia. A great time is guaranteed!