Mar 22, 2017, 06:31 AM
Build Log

Down Under - Race Ready II

Race Ready II being built In Australia. By Me!

I am a Cabinetmaker, Joiner and Carpenter.
I am 25yrs old and I work in the family owned and run business in Sydney, Australia.

I have always been into and around boats and I built my first IOM Robbe Windstar when I was 13-14.

I thought it was time to do another nice project and what better than to do a IOM that I can actually race at club events up the road every Tuesday when I have the time.

So here It goes...
to remove ads between posts
Mar 22, 2017, 06:45 AM
I acquired these plans last week and have been pondering if I should make it or just buy an old v9 that's for sale.
Went down the local waterways and found the Tuesday arvo club meet and had a chat to the guys. Long story short they laughed at my Robbe Windstar and I got a fire in my belly.

Left the meet and went straight back to work to get started finding and cutting some Cedar.
I calmed down when I'm working with timber so it was a good stress relief right away.
Mar 22, 2017, 06:59 AM
All that was done last night.

So tonight I got the CNC machine working on cutting the profiles out in 4mm ply.
I am cheating...ALOT

Enjoy.

I was going to upload a video of the CNC cutting the profiles but it wont let me.

That was tonight's effort.
Work may get in the way of my afternoon's / night's soon so be patient as I try my best to keep it going.

Cheers
Dirk.
Mar 22, 2017, 10:55 AM
Will fly for food

I wish I had a real shop with real tooling. This is going to be very interesting to watch and a great learning experience for me. I'm sure your experience with woodworking will bring many new ideas to the build.
Mar 22, 2017, 11:48 AM
Barry D USA 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidjensen

I wish I had a real shop with real tooling. This is going to be very interesting to watch and a great learning experience for me. I'm sure your experience with woodworking will bring many new ideas to the build.