Thread Tools
Mar 15, 2017, 03:23 PM
silently addicted..
muteFPV's Avatar
Thread OP
Mini-Review

TS100 Soldering Iron - Overview, Configuration & Firmware Update


The soldering iron is one of your most important tools in this hobby. It has to work properly when you need it and you also have to take good care of it. Choosing a soldering iron though can be a bit tricky, especially with so many options available in the market.

The TS100 sits at a sweet spot and checks many boxes: affordable price, portable size, small weight, large selection of soldering tips and (most importantly) very good temperature adjustment and retention.

No, it is not cheap, especially compared to basic soldering irons. But it performs better than more expensive ones. It is also perfect for soldering in tight spots and balances nicely on the hand.

Long story short: Highly recommended.

You can watch the overview and configuration of the TS100 in the short video here:
BEST FOR LESS: TS100 Soldering Iron - Overview, Configuration & Firmware Update (TS-B2 & TS-I tips) (2 min 48 sec)

or check the screengrabs below..


TS100 soldering iron (various versions):
https://goo.gl/44Iz0s
https://goo.gl/GC7wNf
https://goo.gl/Y7UuSL
https://goo.gl/h2895r
https://goo.gl/r07g3o

Replacement TS100 shell in various colors:
https://goo.gl/44GPtO

Compatible soldering tips for the TS100:
Set of all 7 tips: https://goo.gl/GqYO8i
Individual tips:
https://goo.gl/xJRnrY
https://goo.gl/zZ5sWZ


Attached you will find the Operating Manual, Schematic, Source Codes, Firmware and stock Config file.


Enjoy!
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Mar 15, 2017, 04:43 PM
Registered User
Dunno..just today was soldering SMD bits with my trusty 45! yr old Weller "craftsman' 25w soldering pencil.
Think I paid less than 10$ for it New.
Absolutely adequate to purpose . Never even gave using it a second thought.
An old mechanic once said that to always watch out for mechanics with massive tool chests.
It's the Man not the tools
Mar 15, 2017, 04:52 PM
silently addicted..
muteFPV's Avatar
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bare View Post
Dunno..just today was soldering SMD bits with my trusty 45! yr old Weller "craftsman' 25w soldering pencil.
Think I paid less than 10$ for it New.
Absolutely adequate to purpose . Never even gave using it a second thought.
An old mechanic once said that to always watch out for mechanics with massive tool chests.
It's the Man not the tools
That's true. I have been using for years that old Velleman shown in the video.
Weller is no slouch of course. I will definitely get one of their soldering stations some day.

Let's not forget that a man has to have some toys as well though :P
Mar 30, 2017, 01:40 PM
Registered User
Just got my TS100, problems.
Looking to check/update firmware, following instructions to hold button nearest to tip then plugging in USB to PC, it doesn't show up as it own drive. The TS100 indicates it's in DFU mode but it's not there. Checking device manager under USB, it shows some sort of failure. I tried different USB cables, no go.

Defective unit?
Mar 30, 2017, 01:41 PM
silently addicted..
muteFPV's Avatar
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrome Horn View Post
Just got my TS100, problems.
Looking to check/update firmware, following instructions to hold button nearest to tip then plugging in USB to PC, it doesn't show up as it own drive. The TS100 indicates it's in DFU mode but it's not there. Checking device manager under USB, it shows some sort of failure.

Defective unit?
Could be a driver issue.
Does it work in config mode (plugging it in without holding the button)?
Mar 30, 2017, 01:59 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by muteFPV View Post
Could be a driver issue.
Does it work in config mode (plugging it in without holding the button)?
Wow, thanks for the quick response, muteFPV.
Yes, plugged in, powers up, displays "config" and the unit seems to function as expected.

FWIW in the Device Manager, the error states "device descriptor request failed".
Last edited by Chrome Horn; Mar 30, 2017 at 02:05 PM.
Mar 30, 2017, 02:09 PM
silently addicted..
muteFPV's Avatar
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrome Horn View Post
Wow, thanks for the quick response, muteFPV.
Yes, plugged in, powers up, displays "config" and the unit seems to function as expected.

FWIW in the Device Manager, the error states "device descriptor request failed".
So the folder that contains the config file does not show up in the Config mode either?
Or it shows up in Config mode and not in DFU?

It would help if you could try it on another PC.

Also don't worry that much about the firmware. On mine I did not notice any changes.
Except if you want to use some more advanced ones that utilize the gyro to change the temperature for example.
Mar 30, 2017, 02:29 PM
Registered User
Kind of working now, I guess. I'd been using a powered USB hub as interface, plugged directly into the USB's on the PC and the TS100 shows up in drives.

The unit shows FW version 2.12. For the heck of it, I c&p'd a downloaded vers. 2.12 into the drive folder and it shows up as .err. However, config still indicates vers. 2.12. The unit continues to function so I should leave well enough alone.

Still, Github has an interesting alternative with added functionality and accessibility, thoughts on that?

https://github.com/Ralim/ts100
Mar 30, 2017, 02:49 PM
silently addicted..
muteFPV's Avatar
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrome Horn View Post
Kind of working now, I guess. I'd been using a powered USB hub as interface, plugged directly into the USB's on the PC and the TS100 shows up in drives.

The unit shows FW version 2.12. For the heck of it, I c&p'd a downloaded vers. 2.12 into the drive folder and it shows up as .err. However, config still indicates vers. 2.12. The unit continues to function so I should leave well enough alone.

Still, Github has an interesting alternative with added functionality and accessibility, thoughts on that?

https://github.com/Ralim/ts100
Haven't tried anything else than the stock update.
I will consider a different firmware if I end up wanting something specific as far as usability is concerned.
Mar 30, 2017, 03:05 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by muteFPV View Post
Haven't tried anything else than the stock update.
I will consider a different firmware if I end up wanting something specific as far as usability is concerned.
Yes, don't fix it if it ain't broke sounds good to me. Thanks again for the recommendation of this unit and your help.
Mar 30, 2017, 03:10 PM
silently addicted..
muteFPV's Avatar
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrome Horn View Post
Yes, don't fix it if it ain't broke sounds good to me. Thanks again for the recommendation of this unit and your help.
No problem. You will certainly enjoy using it!
May 23, 2017, 02:03 PM
Registered User
Nobert's Avatar
I found this unit about a year ago and have enjoyed using it. I now have 2 so that I don't have to change tips during a build.
I would like to change the cut off voltage to 16 as I run the units off of a 5S 5000ma battery. I can't get the config menu to make the change. Any tips. Both units are now running Ver. 2.12.
Thanks for your help.
Neal
May 23, 2017, 03:43 PM
silently addicted..
muteFPV's Avatar
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobert View Post
I found this unit about a year ago and have enjoyed using it. I now have 2 so that I don't have to change tips during a build.
I would like to change the cut off voltage to 16 as I run the units off of a 5S 5000ma battery. I can't get the config menu to make the change. Any tips. Both units are now running Ver. 2.12.
Thanks for your help.
Neal
Default config says 9-12 on my version. Don't know how it could change to 16.
You could run a voltage alarm on your balance plug but a setting in the config file instead would certainly be better.
May 23, 2017, 04:42 PM
Registered User
Nobert's Avatar
I didn't know if someone had done a fix on Github that would allow the change.
Thanks for your reply.
Neal
May 26, 2017, 11:36 AM
Registered User
Nobert's Avatar
If you go to Github and search for TS100 you will find Ralim/ts100. Version 1.06 allows you to set the cutoff voltage between 10-24 volts. I programmed both of my units to 16V cutoff. Actual cutoff is 16.3 volts on both units(3.26V/cell). Perfect.
Neal
Last edited by Nobert; May 26, 2017 at 11:46 AM.


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools