Wing geometry and twist - RC Groups
Mar 13, 2017, 09:40 PM
Discussion

Wing geometry and twist

Hi guys, wonder if I can pick some brains.
I'm a newbie plane builder but just finished my first balsa design (and first flying wing) and to be fair it is not as good as I had hoped. Lessons learned and I am now heading back to the CAD board.

However I wanted to try and clarify some of the geometry aspects and design intent.

1) Where do you usually pick up the dihedral from ? The way I have done it is to build the wing in two halves and incorporate the sweep, dihedral and twist into each half....trying to be clever I have ended up with a quite weird warped wing that was a pig to skin as the wing is bowed.
My ribs are not perpendicular to the spars which I think has caused build issues.
Should I have built dihedral into a centre section and gone from there instead with a pair of straight wings coming out at an angle ?

2) Where should the twist originate from ? I took mine from the trailing edge, again with the concept I could keep the aileron shape as easy as possible to construct. Now however I think I should have twisted about the hinge line of the control surfaces (ie rear spar location) as I am having binding issues - enough to abort the build.

Shame because the wing was strong and the twist held up great, aerodynamically I know it would have flown well if I could have finished it.
Any help much appreciated - cheers
to remove ads between posts
Mar 14, 2017, 10:16 AM
What kind of twist did you use?

The simplest way is to block up the wingtips ("linear" twist).

But you could also use the (recently discussed) "nonlinear Horten" twist.

Might also be informative if you had some pics to show how you hinged your elevons.

Finally, it might also be good for you to share some of the specifics of your planform ... sweep, amount of twist, etc. You shouldn't need all that much dihedral with a swept wing, due to the dihedral affect of sweep.

-Dave
Mar 14, 2017, 03:15 PM