Mar 09, 2017, 04:37 PM
Little green man
Thread OP
Yippee!

Today was my first (half ) successful flight

I bought trainstar tough trainer and after some troubles with the transmitter I got to fly it today. This is my first time ever flying fixed wing aircraft.

I really wanted to try it so I went to the first open field. I live on a country side and there are those fields where potatoes were growing in the summer. They are not great, but at least there are no bushes on them. But they are pretty rough. I managed to launch it from there.
After a successful liftoff I circled with the plane for about a minute. Then when I got higher the wind got stronger. I didn't want to risk a crash so I came down and started approaching for landing. I totally forgot everything that I should have done. I didn't even notice what was the wind direction, I didn't do a couple of flybys before landing. But I did remember how to land it. I kept the throttle low and used elevons to give it more lift. It was approaching the ground quite slow and I decided to go for landing. As I said, the surface was quite rough, and the plane tipped over as soon as the wheels touched the ground. I ended up with half-broken elevons and rudder. But it's not something a little glue can't fix.

This may seem like a unsuccessful flight, but for me it was great. I got a huge kick out of looking my plane fly over me perfectly steady with no input from me. I never got that while flying quadcopters.
to remove ads between posts
Mar 09, 2017, 06:13 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by I14R10
I bought trainstar tough trainer and after some troubles with the transmitter I got to fly it today. This is my first time ever flying fixed wing aircraft.

I really wanted to try it so I went to the first open field. I live on a country side and there are those fields where potatoes were growing in the summer. They are not great, but at least there are no bushes on them. But they are pretty rough. I managed to launch it from there.