What radio should I buy - RC Groups
Feb 13, 2017, 10:07 AM
Discussion

What radio should I buy

I am new at the hobby and I bought a hobby king hk6s. I was looking to get an upgrade. Can someone please recommend something to get. I want it to be under $150
to remove ads between posts
Feb 13, 2017, 10:50 AM
Dunno, what are you intending to use it with ? Cars, boats, planes, helis, multi-rotors, robots, something else ?

Steve
Feb 13, 2017, 12:55 PM
Sagitta Fanboy
You've got a number of excellent options. Of those, my suggestions are the following.

If you want easy programming and tons of aircraft/quads/heli's available with pre-installed receivers, get the Spektrum DX6e

if you want maximum capability, lots of quad and plane oriented receiver options, some receiver-installed quads and don't mind more complex (but more powerful) programming, get the FrSky Taranis QX7. The Taranis can also take transmitter modules to allow you to fly other protocols (like Spektrum, FlySky or Graupner HoTT)
Feb 14, 2017, 11:47 AM
Find a used Spektrum DX2 (6700). I see them for sale used for around $130.00. You will be amazed what you can do with that transmitter. If you buy the foam planes from Horizon the Spektrum is necessary for the receivers installed in them. When you register it you can find many model set ups for the Park Zone type planes and helicopters purchased from Horizon. You must make sure the person who is selling it deregisters the transmitter.
Feb 14, 2017, 12:11 PM
FrSky Taranis (plus or QX7) hands down.
Feb 14, 2017, 12:20 PM
AKA 8178 - MIke Dailey
The 16 channel FrSky Taranis Q X7 fits your budget at $105 with money left over to buy an eight channel receiver with built in telemetry for $32.00.

Here is a link to some high resolution pictures Q X7 https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...24&postcount=5

Mike
Feb 14, 2017, 01:47 PM
KC
KC
Registered Loiterer.