Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by JimDrew, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Jun 19, 2020, 07:57 PM
Registered User
glowen's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew
The OLED draws about 50mA of current when powered.

Yes, the X24 can operate without the OLED. However, if the OLED is used it must be in place on power up (to initialize it). You can't just turn off/on the power to it without also powering off/on the X24 itself.

We have not actually made any cables, but we can. I thought this was going to be an option that everyone would want. It actually cost a lot extra to make the plastic enclosure as two separate pieces- the main upper, and the OLED bezel (which has the OLED fused into it). What length cable would you need?

As far as the link not working, there is apparently some issue with some ISP that has been periodically hacked and is passing a lot of websites to various other URLs.
Thanks for the info Jim.
A couple of 12" cables would work just fine. (one to use and a spare)
Perhaps the circuit design wouldn't allow for this but had you ever contemplated a means to "disable" the OLED via the 3 buttons?
Something like press and hold the 2 outboard buttons for 5 seconds etc?
This is like polishing the apple as I really like the X24 as-is but am basically just thinking out loud about a product improvement concept.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 20, 2020, 04:14 AM
Thread OP
Why would you want to disable the display? It pulls less current than a 4g servo! It's also the information center.
Jun 20, 2020, 11:39 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew
Why would you want to disable the display? It pulls less current than a 4g servo! It's also the information center.
^^^^^^^^^^^^
Jun 20, 2020, 01:43 PM
Registered User
glowen's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew
Why would you want to disable the display? It pulls less current than a 4g servo! It's also the information center.
Let me put things in context.
The following is how I plan on using the X24.
The X24 will be installed for use in large gasser airplanes.

First, the electronics installation is assembled and tested on the bench.
The receivers, servo's, switch, LED and A123 LiFe batteries are connected to the X24.
Note the electronics may include telemetry module(s) as well.
The X24 is then programmed / configured to interface everything as desired via the OLED.

Second, the electronics are installed in the airplane.
All controls are now mechanically hooked up to their respective surfaces.
Control throws are set up and adjusted as needed using the transmitter and X24 (via the OLED).

Once the installation is complete, it's time to fly.
Typical day at the airfield starts with assembly of the airplane (i.e., usually the wing and / or wing halves need to be fastened etc).
Then the airplane is fueled and aired-up if pneumatic retracts are on the bird.
At this point, there is not access or visibility to the internal electronics of the airplane including the X24.
Note that battery voltages / usage is handled via telemetry with the radio.
The airplane is re-fueled and aired-up after each flight in preparation for the next flight.
At the conclusion of the flying day, the airplane is defueled, air pressure bled and then disassembled for transport back home.

So long story short, once I have the X24 installed and set up in the airplane, I don't see a need to power the OLED anymore.
Recognizing it's not consuming much power, that's still wasted power in any event.
The only scenario that is anticipated is if / when I may need to make another adjustment and / or trouble-shoot some issue.
Hence the request for an extension cable such that I have a means to temporarily connect the OLED to see what's going on inside the X24
when I'm not flying the airplane.
Jun 22, 2020, 10:58 AM
Thread OP
Once the X24 is powered off its diagnostics information is lost, and using about 11uA of current. You can’t just plug the OLED back in and retrieve any previous flight data, and you can’t just plug the OLED screen in after it has been powered up. The display has to be initialized and that occurs only on power up (it’s a lengthy and time sensitive process so it’s not something that can be done while driving the servos).

The power consumption of 50mA means a loss of about 12.5mA on a 15 minute flight. That is at full brightness. You can turn down the brightness to the lowest level and it’s about 5mA (1.25mA on 15 minute flight). Realistically you should have hundreds (if not thousands) of mAH’s of extra power always available for safety. The power draw of the X24 should be your last concern. Like I said, a tiny 4g servo draws far more current. If you are using the X24’s electronic current matching you could be saving many AMPS (not mA) of current because of that, so the current consumption of the OLED is really not a concern.

We can still make you a cable if you need one, just let me know.
Jun 22, 2020, 01:36 PM
Registered User
glowen's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew
Once the X24 is powered off its diagnostics information is lost, and using about 11uA of current. You canít just plug the OLED back in and retrieve any previous flight data, and you canít just plug the OLED screen in after it has been powered up. The display has to be initialized and that occurs only on power up (itís a lengthy and time sensitive process so itís not something that can be done while driving the servos).

The power consumption of 50mA means a loss of about 12.5mA on a 15 minute flight. That is at full brightness. You can turn down the brightness to the lowest level and itís about 5mA (1.25mA on 15 minute flight). Realistically you should have hundreds (if not thousands) of mAHís of extra power always available for safety. The power draw of the X24 should be your last concern. Like I said, a tiny 4g servo draws far more current. If you are using the X24ís electronic current matching you could be saving many AMPS (not mA) of current because of that, so the current consumption of the OLED is really not a concern.

We can still make you a cable if you need one, just let me know.
Thanks for the info and sanity check.
Ok, so rather than "fix what isn't broken" my plan now is to leave the OLED alone and just turn down the brightness to the lowest level when not being used.
That seems like the practical thing to do.
And no need for any cables!
Thanks again for your help and perspective.
Jun 22, 2020, 10:43 PM
Thread OP
You're welcome!
Jun 26, 2020, 01:04 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by spookyeng
Thanks Jim for the update on the site, that would check with what I am seeing. i keep getting directed to the pharmaceutical site if I use Google search and then attempt to go to your site. However, if I come back to here and use the link in the post, I am able to get into the site. So I did place an order for four batteries today and then next week I will get another four batteries! Talk soon,.

Jason
I had this same problem. I thought it was just me. Kept getting Viagra ads. Thought the wife hacked my computer lol..
Jun 26, 2020, 01:06 AM
Registered User
Jim, will auto match work if the servos travel in different directions? I have 2 rudder servos. One on each side of the fuse in the tail. When one is pushing the other is pulling.
Jun 26, 2020, 02:29 PM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.Delaney
Jim, will auto match work if the servos travel in different directions? I have 2 rudder servos. One on each side of the fuse in the tail. When one is pushing the other is pulling.

Yes, it will. If you setup everything so that it works (just not matched), then the auto-match should just work as it knows which way you have setup the servos. I did make it so that there is an option to reverse a servo in the auto-match setup itself, but I don't think it's actually ever used by anyone because I don't think it is actually needed.
Jun 30, 2020, 01:17 PM
RC Junkie
Torquerolljoe's Avatar

BEC outputs on X24


I was wondering if the xps 24 can handle two ignition systems for a two multi-cylinder engines in my plane? Is that the purpose for the dual BEC's?

Thanks,

Joseph
Jun 30, 2020, 01:34 PM
Registered User
I feel safe in saying......that's what Jim had in mind.....
Jul 01, 2020, 10:39 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torquerolljoe
I was wondering if the xps 24 can handle two ignition systems for a two multi-cylinder engines in my plane? Is that the purpose for the dual BEC's?

Thanks,

Joseph
Quote:
Originally Posted by tande
I feel safe in saying......that's what Jim had in mind.....
Me too as this is what I intend to do.
Jul 03, 2020, 02:01 PM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torquerolljoe
I was wondering if the xps 24 can handle two ignition systems for a two multi-cylinder engines in my plane? Is that the purpose for the dual BEC's?

Thanks,

Joseph

Yes, that is the reason for the two outputs. We have many people running 4 cylinder/twin ignition box systems with the X24.
Jul 09, 2020, 02:54 PM
Registered User
jkent27's Avatar

end points question


Have a quick question about the X24. I just ordered one and haven't received it yet but I've been reading thru the manual trying to get a feel for what I'm in for. My apologies if this has already been asked & answered.

My question is about the endpoints on the X24 vs. the endpoints on my transmitter. If I set the endpoints on the X24, do I need to mirror them on my Tx or how does that work?

Thx, Jeff


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools