CL-84 scratch build; OpenAero VTOL; Constant Velocity Props - RC Groups
Feb 06, 2017, 09:41 PM
Nicholas Jacobs
Build Log

CL-84 scratch build; OpenAero VTOL; Constant Velocity Props

In the air museum at Ottawa there sits a beautiful CL-84, #402, the one shown in all the propaganda and clips in all its glory.

I'm a scratch builder from when I was 14 designing and flying C/L, and to me, there is only one way to have one of these birds - build it myself.

Enter OpenAero VTOL - a present to us VTOL enthusiasts from Happy Sunday (David Thompson), and the equally talented Ran D St. Clair. If you don't know already, Happy wrote the code, and Ran tested and documented it and continues to provide great support and enthusiasm to us all.

I have scavenged lots of documents including an operational manual, but have no blue prints or other technical documentation. I have a "3D view" drawing which looks like a plan from a plastic model. There are some errors based on the photos I have of the real thing - anyway its plenty good enough for my 1/12 semi-scale prototype.

Having visited the Ottawa Air Museum a couple of summers back, I have a lot of pics. I contacted the curator and they have manuals which I'm free to copy or take pictures of - the catch - get back to Ottawa on a Monday or Thursday ! Well, before I attempt any kind of large scale ... I'll build a 1/12 scale first

My plan
- Use OpenAeroVTOL (KK2) for the flight controller
- Basic foam sheet construction
- Use constant velocity (variable pitch) main rotors and rear rotor
- Tilting wing with coordinated tilting stabilizer (using documented curves)
- Working rudder and elevators
- Working flaperons; coordinated deflection with wing tilt (using documented curves)
- Main motor assisted yaw; coordinated with wing tilt deflection (guided by documented curves)
- Retractable gear
- Lights