Feb 02, 2017, 07:54 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Wing profile for a 3D printed solar glider

Hello everyone, I've been flying rc planes and UAV's for a few years now and want to build a solar plane with a friend. The plan is to 3D print the wing section that wil be holding the solar panels, and encapsulate eerything.
However I have no experience in RC sailplanes and am not sure about which wing profile would be the most appropriate.
From the informations I gathered, a common airfoil is from AG35 to AG37, the plane would be around 4 meters wingspan and wing sections must be at least 40cm large, one other key factor is that the thicker the airfoil profile will be, the harder it will be to lay down the solar panels as they are not very flexible and extremely fragile.

Do you think AG35/37 is a good choice or something better could be used ?

Clement
to remove ads between posts
Feb 02, 2017, 08:32 AM
What does the mission profile look like?
Feb 02, 2017, 09:20 AM
Aurora Builder
Good luck. 3D printing the wing will be very heavy and isn't good structurally. Take a look at the Supra plans for an idea on structure, airfoils etc.
Feb 02, 2017, 12:00 PM
Yah forget 3D printer, you need an open structure with carbon ribs to handle the weight and keep the light coming into your cells. Perhaps you need a special profile with a flat extrados for 60 % of the chord. I remember to have seen such type of profile, but where
Feb 02, 2017, 12:09 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexis aguttes
Yah forget 3D printer, you need an open structure with carbon ribs to handle the weight and keep the light coming into your cells. Perhaps you need a special profile with a flat extrados for 60 % of the chord. I remember to have seen such type of profile, but where
How about posts 26 and 27 in this thread?
Feb 02, 2017, 12:55 PM
Thread OP
Hi, thanks for so many answers,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cap_n_Dave
What does the mission profile look like?