Weathering Foam ARFs - RC Groups
Jan 16, 2017, 03:22 PM
Discussion

Weathering Foam ARFs

Hi, I am new to weathering my foam ARFs and I am looking for some advice.
I have an airbrush and I have been comfortable with some dirt and exhaust stains put on with an airbrush. I have been reading on weathering for hard plastic models but don't see where many of the technics apply to foam arfs and I am looking for some ideas.

My questions are:
1) for foam arfs that hav molded in panel lines, what are some effective ways to get the look of a pin wash? A traditional wash might not work because of the foam beads throughout the surface which would also capture the wash instead of just the panel lines. I am worried that a fine tip marker might not get in the panel line groove of some of the newer planes, with finer panel lines and I am struggling with the color, even if I could get the ink in there. My choices seem to be black or a light brown, which I fear will not show on the painted foam (olive in one case). I could airbrush lines, but then the actual molded in line would not really have the darker color in there.

2) chalk or non chalk pastels. Similar problem on keeping the coloring where I want it. Any tips on oil/grease/dirt beyond what I can do with a panel line and airbrush? I am thinking lines and streaks on piston engine cowlings, etc.

Lastly, if anyone can point to some really good info on weathering foam arfs specifically, I would appreciate it. I think I have gone through most of the youtube videos, which largely focusing upon airbrushing.

Thank you,
Jeff
to remove ads between posts
Jan 20, 2017, 10:00 AM
Suspended Account
I'm not an expert and I will try charcoal powder and clear mat coat on my freewing tomcat but on my warbirds, so far I used airbrush and dry brushing with some good results.

For panel lines i place a masking tape just on the panel and airbrush it in the way of the airflow with some dark grey

For dirt I airbrush black and brown