Jan 04, 2017, 12:43 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Make an EDF suggestion!

I'm looking for suggestions for a first edf. I have been flying since the 80s, and I am a fair pilot. Everything from fast deltas, to 3D planes, F3A planes, scale WWI, gliders, and even a few scratch built 400 sized speed planes. But I have always wanted to try a jet!

My criteria are:
  • It would be great to be able to use my existing 5S, 4000 mah, 45C lipos.
  • I just hate foam, so it has to be composite or balsa/ply.
  • Could be an arf, a complete kit, or even a short kit for me to build. An arf would be ideal, but I like building, too.
  • I would rather have a scale subject, but a sport plane will do.
  • It should be easy to fly and land, mildly aerobatic, and doesn't have to be bullet fast.
  • I want it to roll off grass, have retracts and no need for a bungee.
  • Single engine model.
  • Can't cost a fortune.

So far, I have only found a couple that meet my criteria:

RBC Yak-15 (There are some other nice looking RBC kits, too)
Shane Harding Razor 90
K&A Mig-15? is a 4000 mah lipo too large for this one?
BD-5 Fiberglass Sport 90 mm I think hobbyking used to sell this, but I still see them on ebay.
Hero F-86

I have been searching for days, are there any other good choices out there?

Thanks!
Last edited by Barry Leger; Jan 04, 2017 at 01:58 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Jan 04, 2017, 05:13 PM
Pro Hoarder
Any of the RBC kits would be great. I have been looking at the mig 25 for 90mm. K&A kits are also great but most are for 70mm so small gear which is not to good for grass. Ken does have a 90mm F100. Or a Jet hanger Hobbies kit. My avitar is their sky ray for 70mm
Latest blog entry: In flight
Jan 04, 2017, 06:46 PM
How about the habu 32x?
Jan 04, 2017, 08:21 PM
Reading your criteria:
70mm edf batteries to big.

Since you are flying since 80 probably above 50 years your eyes will apreciate a big bird.
So a 90mm edf is the option.