Dec 31, 2016, 12:30 PM
Thread OP

3s Batteries Puffing - HELP!

Ok folks, here's the skinny:
I'm a noob when it comes to electric power systems, and I also like to build and modify....
I was given an old Mini Skyfun, and I am upgrading the electronics to make her zoom!
I have a brushless inrunner from a swap meet - (no name/label) - but it works well.
I tested it w/ a 5.5x4.5 prop w/ a 30-amp max esc and a 3s 1000mah 30c DBY baby-brick battery.
Ran the pack dry in a power test, generating tons of thrust for this featherweight airframe.
The inrunner ran hot - but not 'burning' hot - (looking for a heat sink, btw!) - and the esc only got 'warm', so, all good!
The test took about 3-4 mins, varying the speed from low to running it max for about 2 mins straight.

Problem is, the battery got 'kinda hot' and it swelled up - 'puffed', I believe they call it! The power did not drop, but I am worried that I am destroying the batt! (Puffing can't be good!) The battery case DID return to it's original shape - mostly - but I need to know how to make it work AND save my batts!
My Question - does the esc size/quality make a difference in the discharge? (It's a regular 30-amp Heads Up esc.)
Would a higher C-rated battery make a difference? Like a 40c or 50c? I know I will need to add cheater-holes to the airframe to get more air around it, but for my tests it was next to the frame, not in it! (I don't have a problem varying thrust from low to wot in flight, but how can I protect and get the most out of my batteries without the heat and the puffing?

P.S. - The motor is the exact same size as the e-flight 400 inrunner - can I 'make' a heat sink to help keep it cool or does anyone have any 'spares' to sell?
I love the prospect of getting this bird into the air, but I want to make sure I can have more than 1 flight without destroying the battery, or is 'puffing' the cost of speed? Upgrade the esc, upgrade the battery or swap out the inrunner for a different motor? HELP the noob, guys!