Dec 29, 2016, 02:48 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Top Flite P-40E Build

Last year this kit was donated to me at a swap and fly event because nobody else wanted to take it on. The kit was bought at an action from one of the members of our club. If it wasn't for the box i don't think it would be possible to identify what kind of plane it even was. I was the only one in the club willing to take it on. I have built a couple of carl goldberg cubs but never a model with this much going on. I am a college student on somewhat of a budget and could use a few tips from the guys with a bit more experience. So far i have cut out the cowl and fiber glassed it together. It was time consuming but looks great. I am in between glassing the model or covering it. I would like to glass it but i have never glassed a model before. I have experience with fiberglass just never covering an airplane with it. I \have an OS 91 FX for it however i don't want to cut up the cowl to get it to fit and cant justify a $80 wrap around muffler. I am leaning towards a DLE 20 or Evolution 20GX
to remove ads between posts
Dec 31, 2016, 08:13 AM
Ldm
Ldm
Ldm
Nice job so far !
A few things :
The engine , you may be able to angle it and still get the muffler in the cowl. I have only used 4 stroke engines in the past on this type plane but I have seen 2 strokes turned on angle so the muffler is less protruding if at all.

Google TOM Pierce FW190 . He has an elaborate website on his excellent build of an FW190.
On that site is a step by step process for a water based poly method of expoxy , very easy to follow and less expensive then the commercially sold systems.

Personally I would go back and add the flaps, this plane can be a handful and flaps will really tame ( help tame) the model. Its an easy mod if you take your time and mark the location and cut out the sheeting etc .