Dec 27, 2016, 09:16 PM
Thread OP
Question

Heng Long 1/16 Tank Model (defects) in General

So, I got my twin boys some tanks this X-mas and, of course, dad needed his own tank. Because. I was a RC modeler as a teen and then, well, life got in the way. I thought the HL models offered a good RC entry point with upgrade paths should the kids get into the hobby.

I have some general questions for someone who may be a font of knowledge on these Heng Longs...

Three (3) Tanks:
M4A3 Sherman
Panzer G
"Sound & Smoke"
Airsoft 6mm Canon
2.4 Ghz
IR upgradable
The sound works swell. The smoke not at all, but I can hear a pump whirring on both tanks, just no smoke output, and I followed the directions carefully on adding smoke fluid. I understand the HL smoke units are crap and will quit sooner rather than later... But right out of the box? The user manual indicates there should be a smoke system kill-switch and a volume rheostat on the bottom of these tanks. There is neither, just the main power switch and holes where the other components would go. Could the lack of switches be an indicator why the smoke doesn't work on either one? The X-mitter remote button kicks the pump sound on and off, so there's something in there.
Tiger I
"Sound & Smoke"
Airsoft 6mm Canon
2.4 Ghz
IR upgradable
"MZ Upgrade" with zinc alloy gearbox and metal treads
The sound works swell. The smoke works so-so. The airsoft canon not at all. The control transmitter is slightly different from the Sherman and Panzer as it has a "canon fire" push button on the top right of the unit. Again, this tank has no smoke system kill switch or sound volume rheostat. I believe (I haven't cracked open the tank, yet) the airsoft firing mechanism was left out or is disabled as the Tiger neither fires nor recoils like the other two. The manual indicates there should be a canon kill-switch in the hatch where one loads the BBs, there is none, just a mounting hole.