Sep 24, 2004, 07:20 AM
Thread OP

glider MAK-15M

Hi
This is my first post to ur very interesting forum.
I’m going to build 2.2 meter Russian glider MAK-15M. Could somebody tell me Is it possble to aerotow such glider by usual Trainer powered by OS 46 FX on field?
Thanks in advance
to remove ads between posts
Sep 24, 2004, 10:29 AM
Vladimir- Welcome to RCGroups. Can you estimate the flying weight of your model glider?

-Ben
Sep 24, 2004, 09:21 PM
Thread OP

weight

Ben
The point is that I have never built scale gliders before so it’s quite difficult for me to estimate the flying weight. But roughly I believe - 2000 grams (70 oz). Will it work with 0.46 aerotow? If it’s turned out that I am too optimistic and flying weight will be say 75 or even 80 oz, would be trainer powered enough to aerotow the glider?
Vlad
Sep 24, 2004, 11:42 PM
Hello

very interesting sailplane!!! you have more photograph, documents, URL? the forms are original,
it is a beautiful sailplane
surface is large, the weight in flight will be 2500 gr
46 engine is just, to tow in security, one needs 10cc or 15cc
Sep 25, 2004, 07:56 PM
Thread OP
Thanks for reccomendations
About the glider: The designer of this glider is M. Kuzakov. Glider MAK-15 was in serial production from 1956 to 1958. I was all-purpose glider for aerobatic and thermal either slope soaring. Drawings on this glider was published in Russian book by Sheremetev B.N. “Planeri”. Below there are two pictures from this book. You can get a copy of this book (on CD) at :
http://aviabooks.grafitex.ru/index.html?p=6
(number 014) If u need language help please feel free to ask me
Two modifications of Mak-15 are known:
MAK-15M glider has more wing span, canopy. (see picture)
MAK-15MP – powered glider (see picture)
Nov 11, 2004, 01:04 PM

Russian/Soviet gliders