Flying E-Powered RCCA Combat - RC Groups
Nov 30, 2016, 11:55 PM
Heath
Mini-HowTo

Flying E-Powered RCCA Combat

I have been flying e-powered combat for the past two years while experimenting with different power setups and air frame designs. As a number of people have expressed interest in e-powered combat I did the following write up on the my experiments with e-power. To be clear, my goal was to fly the official RCCA combat classes with e-power. E-power only combat, while interesting, is outside the scope of this post.

After testing a number of different motors I settled on a four cell LiPo, Turnigy D3542/4 1,450kv motor with a Turnigy AE65A ESC.

Static testing was as follows:
8x3 MAS 17,500 rpm 24 amps (SSC)
8x3 MAS 19,500 rpm 27 amps (Gnat)
10x4 MAS 14,500 rpm 49 amps (Limited B)
8x6 MAS ? 49 amps (Open B so I don’t care about RPM only efficiency/performance)

To get 6 minutes of full power flight I used the following battery capacities:
(capacity / amps * 60 = minutes of flight)
SSC: 2.65 Ah
Gnat: 3 Ah
Limited B & Open B: 5 Ah

With the electronics selected I turned my attention to the fuselage. I built a common fuselage for all classes with a removable wing. I used square 2” by 2” vinyl fence post cut to a length of 24”. The motor is mounted on a ¾ inch square of pine board cut to fit inside the fence post. This allows the motor to slide into the post to the correct depth before it is attached with screws. Wing hold down pegs were added to rubber band down the wing. For tail feathers I copied the Gnat design and bolted them on with aluminum angle. I cut a battery hatch with my Dremel and added two holes with a hole saw drill to the top. The rear hole allows servo leads to run from the receiver to the wing servos.
To prevent the battery from being ejected to the side, I added a hook and loop strap. The side hatch is only aerodynamic and visual not structural.