Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales

Birth of An Electrics-Only Club

Michael Rogozinsky takes an in-depth look at the inception and first year of an electrics-only modelling club in Canada.

Article Thumbnail

The Birth of TEMAC - The Toronto Electric Model Aviation Club

I have been flying electric model airplanes since 1982, and have been a member of several radio control clubs, some electric friendly, some not so electric friendly. In the mid 1980ís I joined the Electric Model Flyers of Southern Ontario, an association of electric model flyers that offered an informative newsletter, held meetings, organized funflies, and in recent years hosts a website, and organizes indoor funflies. I got more involved in the EMFSO when I became an executive member (secretary - responsible for membership). Over the years, the EMFSO discussed the idea of starting an exclusive electric R/C club.

While this topic was considered and being discussed at times over the years, most electric flyers joined local clubs in the Toronto. Although there were a few friendly and interested gas (internal combustion engine powered model) flyers, there were always a few unpleasant and even hostile gas flyers who made it their mission in life to make us feel like second class members. We always felt we had to prove something to the others; we never quite felt like we belonged there.

There was an informal group of electric flyers that met every Saturday and Sunday morning to fly, all year round. This was a terrific group of about a dozen electric-knowedgable guys. The problem with this informal club was that it wasnít MAAC (Model Aeronautics Association of Canada, the Canadian version of the AMA) sanctioned, and the field itself was too close to the street and electrical wires.