Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales

Quick Turns - F3K Skills to Learn

Get tips and tricks for radio setup and throwing techniques for quick turn around tasks...

Splash

Quicker Turns = Better Score

Let's have a little chat about quick turns shall we. At the Punkin Chunk this year there were a few quick turn tasks and if you wanted to do well, you needed to keep that plane in the air with as little downtime as possible. Now I'm still a newb with only 5 competitions under my belt, but the way I see it, there are 3 important parts to a successful quick turn, Radio setup, Approach Timing, and the Turn Itself.

Radio Setup

We all use different radios, switches and sliders so there isn't just one way to do this. It's also very different if you are left handed vs right handed. The goal of the radio setup for a quick turn is to be able to fly in very slowly, grab the tip peg and hold or hit a switch on your radio that puts the plane in a launch mode configuration, whatever that is for you. In my case, since I'm a lefty, I'll need it to put the flaps back up and give my up elevator launch preset. After the launch when the switch is released, it needs to be in my zoom mode and ready to fly. There are many ways this can be set up depending on your radio.

Approach Timing

If you want to maximize your score and drop as little time as possible in the round, you need to practice your timing. Get a helper or use your radio if it can do an audible timer. It takes practice, but you'll get a feel for bringing the plane in right on time. You can move if you need to and some like to jog next to the plane for a few feet to make the catch easier. You don't want to catch it too early and if stretch it and wait too long, you are just wasting seconds. I use about a 15 second approach time and adjust the speed with the brakes to make sure the plane arrives to me when I want it to. Practice coming in and landing right next to yourself exactly on the time you set.

The Turn