Jet Gyro - RC Groups
Oct 26, 2016, 12:24 PM
Idea

Jet Gyro

This past June, while attending an EDF event, my buddy brought out his autogyro after the jet flying was finished. I was hooked! After returning home I began learning the ropes about gyros. I built a couple models of the Whippet, as well as a few others. I have had fairly good success.
I have been designing and building foam edf jets for several years and my buddy, Jimmy, and I decided to try and build an edf model to take to next years edf fly in.
We are working independently and he is doing his own design. What you see here is the idea I am going with.
Last edited by orvie6; Oct 26, 2016 at 12:56 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 26, 2016, 12:53 PM
Here are some more pictures. The jet model has a rotor span of 60 inches, weighs 4 1/2 pounds and has a 90mm fan. It uses the same rotor as the blue and white one in the photos. Any comments and recommendation are always welcome.
Wayne
Oct 26, 2016, 08:01 PM
G'Day Wayne.
Nice project's that you have taken on. That looks a pretty good looking head plate on the blue and white model. Have you flown the ducted versions yet ?
Happy Landings
Chris...
Oct 26, 2016, 08:36 PM
Hello Chris. I have only done some taxi runs with the edf one. I am able to get the nosewheel off the ground, but not the entire aircraft. I think I may have too back tilt in the rotor. This is my prototype model, so I expect many changes before it is complete. Like was mentioned in the first post, this is being done as a form of self challenge. As Jimmy and I are EDF pilots as well, we decided to see if we could mix an eff and gyro. Jimmy may have better luck with his as he is going to go with like the Subsonex w/o the wing and a rotor instead.
Oct 26, 2016, 09:22 PM
Wayne,

That is really cool. Keep us posted on your progress. I'm really interested to see this fly.

Bryan
Oct 26, 2016, 10:33 PM
Watching with great interest
Have a BD 5 fuselage I was thinking of converting