Oct 24, 2016, 10:20 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

FRSKY/ACCST Failure, crash, rant, questions....

As the title suggests, my Super Sportster EP crashed this weekend. It was my second flight of the afternoon, fresh battery (maybe 2 minutes in?), within visual range, and suddenly my Taranis says "RSSI critical; telemetry lost". Down she went. It happened at a long established flying club. FRSKY X4R receiver, transplanted from a plane that had dozens of flights, no hard crashes.

I'm pretty new to this, been flying about a year. I was under the assumption that ACCST was the most rock-solid protocol available. I've seen 'telemetry lost' before, but only when the Tx was right next to the Rx, which I believe is pretty normal.

I guess I'm mostly venting, but I'm also looking for any thoughts or advice others might have? Anyone else had problems with this particular receiver or protocol? Should I trust that receiver again? (BTW, post-crash I plugged the battery back in and everything worked fine...._) I'm only out about $100, I can't imagine how I'd feel if this happened in a multi-thousand dollar plane.

One interesting coincident; my buddy's next flight also resulted in a crash. I don't know if he pinpointed the problem or not (Futaba/FRSKY TX/RX combo) buy he was complaining about the plane not responding to input, although not entirely, just intermittently. Anybody else have issues on Saturday afternoon, northern CO?

Anyways, thanks for listening.
Last edited by ThirdR8Pilot; Oct 24, 2016 at 05:15 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 24, 2016, 11:32 AM
I wouldn't be so quick in blaming Frsky, especially since you are still new to this. Built quality of your model, unreliable power supply to receiver (loose connections, etc.), antenna mounted wrong/ bad location, interference, etc. I'd perform a range check on the ground with the TX in range check mode next time. A range check can safe you a lot of money and frustration.