OMNIBUS AIO F3 and F4 and clones (also FLIP 32 - F3 - OMNIBUS ) - Page 2 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Aug 22, 2016, 03:17 PM
Registered User
bguff88's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobivy1234
The current sensor and 12v can be handled by the PDB, I think the FC is fine. Attach a regulated/filtered 12v line to the 'RAM' pins to power your VTX/CAM off the FC with regulated 12v and then use the FC 5v for everything else.

This is one that has those features as well as an onboard OSD (not needed here) but a little longer than most and no true LC filter:

http://www.banggood.com/Realacc-HUBO...p-1068098.html

I'll probably use the following, hook the 12v filtered rail to the 'RAM' pins on the FC and then use a separate current sensor if necessary:

http://www.banggood.com/CC3D-NAZE32-...p-1023543.html

Another solid PDB with 12v LC filter:

http://www.banggood.com/Diatone-V8_3...p-1052002.html
Yes, the FC is fine or rather fantastic but I believe the design intent for this FC was to eliminate the need for a separate or complex PDB with 5v/12v regulators but they missed the mark a bit.

In my case I am running an Alien frame where the PDB does not have voltage regulators so when I saw this FC I was very excited because it would clean things up so much.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 22, 2016, 06:30 PM
Registered User
@bguff88 I understand but you're asking for a F3 flight controller, 12v and 5v BEC, SDcard slot, onboard OSD, SPI gyro, and potential PDB. This board is already way ahead of most other ones available, not enough room for all of that. Here is something along those lines (missing onboard flash for blackbox, I2C gyro 6050):

http://www.banggood.com/F3-Racing-V2...p-1073733.html

I think there are more components using 5v (FC power, receiver, OSD, blackbox, LED, other UARTs, etc.) related to the FC compared to a 12v (cam and VTX) so they are good there. Remember you can plug a 4S battery directly into this FC so a 5v regulator is required for the board to not fry off the bat.

The Alien PDB is very basic, many other cheap PDB exist that cover your concerns.
Aug 22, 2016, 11:23 PM
Registered User
bguff88's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobivy1234
@bguff88 I understand but you're asking for a F3 flight controller, 12v and 5v BEC, SDcard slot, onboard OSD, SPI gyro, and potential PDB. This board is already way ahead of most other ones available, not enough room for all of that. Here is something along those lines (missing onboard flash for blackbox, I2C gyro 6050):

http://www.banggood.com/F3-Racing-V2...p-1073733.html

I think there are more components using 5v (FC power, receiver, OSD, blackbox, LED, other UARTs, etc.) related to the FC compared to a 12v (cam and VTX) so they are good there. Remember you can plug a 4S battery directly into this FC so a 5v regulator is required for the board to not fry off the bat.

The Alien PDB is very basic, many other cheap PDB exist that cover your concerns.
Per Ready To Fly Quads product description "Finally, for maximum ease of use, the Flip 32 OmnibusF3 has an onboard voltage regulator that can easily handle up to a 5s battery. "

Can this really support 5s direct lipo power? Anyone tried this?
Aug 27, 2016, 05:47 AM
AKA jflyper
Quote:
Originally Posted by bguff88
Can this really support 5s direct lipo power? Anyone tried this?
New Product Omnibus F3AIO #121

Quote:
Originally Posted by myairbot.com
tested at 6s, but the board become very very hot(But still working),
so, use it at your rish under 5s. (I belieave it is fine,but no Guarantee)
Aug 29, 2016, 12:54 PM
Merriment has forsaken me
sinmore's Avatar
Ok Im trying to set up PPM but Im not getting the instructions. Are the boards shipped PPM ready or do I need to bridge J8 to something? Im so confused.

Put 0 ohm resistor on R14 will connect j8 to PPM.

Can someone explain that a little better for me?
Aug 29, 2016, 01:18 PM
AKA jflyper
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinmore
Ok Im trying to set up PPM but Im not getting the instructions. Are the boards shipped PPM ready or do I need to bridge J8 to something? Im so confused.

Put 0 ohm resistor on R14 will connect j8 to PPM.

Can someone explain that a little better for me?
You don't need to solder/desolder resistors anymore.

Up to date manual:
http://download.myairbot.com/90052/O...AIO-v1.1r5.pdf
Aug 29, 2016, 03:47 PM
Registered User
That updated manual, and the details at Airbot now say 4S maximum.
Sep 03, 2016, 09:34 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by teralift
You don't need to solder/desolder resistors anymore.

Up to date manual:
http://download.myairbot.com/90052/O...AIO-v1.1r5.pdf
I am a little confused as well on the SBUS configuration. I havent soldered in a reciever yet, but when I go into Betaflight and select RX Serial and SBUS, it does not seem to save the change after reboot. Do I need to de solder the PPM resistor?

I plan to run this with a RacerStar 4 in one 20A ESC. Should only be using 3S, So I would assume I wont need a PDB or a BEC to connect the Battery in on the ESC to the Vbat on the fligh controller. Correct?
Sep 03, 2016, 09:57 AM
AKA jflyper
Quote:
Originally Posted by seipherdj
I am a little confused as well on the SBUS configuration. I havent soldered in a reciever yet, but when I go into Betaflight and select RX Serial and SBUS, it does not seem to save the change after reboot. Do I need to de solder the PPM resistor?

I plan to run this with a RacerStar 4 in one 20A ESC. Should only be using 3S, So I would assume I wont need a PDB or a BEC to connect the Battery in on the ESC to the Vbat on the fligh controller. Correct?
For the receiver configuration, you have to learn some black magic.

For the power, yes, you can connect 4S (officially, and up to 6S with savage) to VBAT.

You can find the black magic in the main thread.

Omnibus F3AIO
Sep 05, 2016, 03:38 PM
Registered User
AirBladeUAV's Avatar
I started carrying this board here https://www.airbladeuav.com/collecti...ght-controller

And I saw somebody said Omnibus F4, well, I have the prototype here too. Hoping to put it on a build soon
Sep 05, 2016, 09:25 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerDominik
Hi there,

has anyone tested the FC?
I received mine today, but I've no access with Betaflight Configurator.

I installed STM32 driver (also for Bootloader mode) and I can flash it (displayed with DFU in Configurator).
But while I connect the FC to my PC without pressing the Bootloader Button I get shortly a "USB device not recognized" message and I see it only a "STM32 Virtual Com Port" in my device manager.
But no Com Port, so I've no access with the Configurator.
Has someone an idea, what I can install?
I have the same error..... What am I missing to get this to work in beta flight?
Sep 05, 2016, 09:32 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerDominik
Hi there,

has anyone tested the FC?
I received mine today, but I've no access with Betaflight Configurator.

I installed STM32 driver (also for Bootloader mode) and I can flash it (displayed with DFU in Configurator).
But while I connect the FC to my PC without pressing the Bootloader Button I get shortly a "USB device not recognized" message and I see it only a "STM32 Virtual Com Port" in my device manager.
But no Com Port, so I've no access with the Configurator.
Has someone an idea, what I can install?
Well figured it out. Just had to switch from COM1 to COM4 in top right of beta flight then it connected right up.
Sep 06, 2016, 12:29 PM
Registered User
bguff88's Avatar
An upgraded PRO version of this FC is coming...

http://nathan.vertile.com/blog/2016/...us-f3-pro/#top
Sep 06, 2016, 02:17 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by teralift
For the receiver configuration, you have to learn some black magic.

For the power, yes, you can connect 4S (officially, and up to 6S with savage) to VBAT.

You can find the black magic in the main thread.

Omnibus F3AIO
Thanks
Sep 07, 2016, 03:00 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by bguff88
An upgraded PRO version of this FC is coming...

http://nathan.vertile.com/blog/2016/...us-f3-pro/#top
Woooow, now that's the perfect board, current sensor and lc filter.
Can't wait to see it available !