Jul 06, 2016, 11:08 AM
Delicous salad addition
Thread OP
Discussion

The moment everything "clicks" **vid added**

Ahhhhh, what a great night last night!

I'm quite new to this FPV game. Pretty new to quads period tbh. Most of my time flying has been done LOS or using Mission Planner to send my larger quad off on its own adventure and then watching the video after.

Last night, things really came together. I've been down at the park almost every night for the last 2 weeks. Most of that time, it felt like a struggle to stay in control and get the quad to do what I wanted it to do. Nervous as hell the whole time.

Last night, things clicked. Beautiful warm summer night. Almost no breeze to speak of. Stood at the edge of the field I usually use and calmly looked around and tried to decide what I wanted to do.

Got my quad in the air, slipped on my goggles and proceeded to have one hell of a flight. Set personal bests for speed, height and distance flown from myself. I flew around trees, OVER trees, hovered over bushes, punched it up into the sky and flew the perimeter of the field from a few hundred feet. And the best part? Coming down from altitude, passing in between a group of trees, flaring out into the field and flying up to myself and landing while still wearing goggles.

OMG what a rush. It was the first time I felt like I could tell the quad where I wanted to go and it did. Like I was in control and not fighting to keep it there.

Amazing experience. I must have watched that video beginning to end a half dozen times last night. If I wasn't hooked before, I sure as hell am now.
Last edited by Great Crouton; Jul 10, 2016 at 05:18 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Jul 06, 2016, 11:13 AM
Team AlienWarpSquad
It is great when all the required practice pays off.
Now take off with the goggles on and start flying 'through' trees.
Jul 06, 2016, 11:36 AM
I kind of felt the same way yesterday. It was almost like the quad was an extension of myself.
Jul 06, 2016, 01:33 PM