Jul 03, 2016, 11:06 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

New to RC Boats and RCing in general. ?s

Hey guys,

I am very new to RCing but am wanting to get a gas powered RC boat to have fun with on the lake. I live in rural Alabama and don't know a soul that actually has an RC boat. I was wanting gas powered for longer run times and wanting to get 30 plus MPH. My price range is under 500 and from what I've seen that may not be possible. Anyone have any suggestions or where to steer me to buy a Ready to Run boat with everything I'll need? Thanks!
to remove ads between posts
Jul 03, 2016, 12:25 PM
Pro Semi Driver
You'll have to search high and low for something very used at that price point.
Jul 03, 2016, 12:27 PM
Pro Semi Driver
Whatever you do, do not buy any of those boats like at Nitrorcx. You'll see them on ebay too. Stay far away from that crap.
Jul 03, 2016, 12:46 PM
There's a Manta Ray that was still available as of June 10th. https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=2637932
You can always upgrade to a Zenoah260 later,but the modded Hybrid Homelite in it will get you well over 30 mph,and you get the receiver and transmitter with it,so it's practically RTR.
Last edited by sleepwalker; Jul 03, 2016 at 03:08 PM.
Jul 03, 2016, 03:41 PM
That manta ray looks like a great deal. I would jump right on that do not lose sight that the fun with homelights long before that nice one in there that ware house hobbies made is what got gas boating started.simply put it will be a very FUN boat. if it is what the seller shows in pics and what he says.
Jul 03, 2016, 08:15 PM
Thread OP
Thanks guys for the responses. I'm starting to figure out it's not cheap to get into for a decent hull/motor combo.
Jul 03, 2016, 09:19 PM
Pro Semi Driver
Quote:
Originally Posted by New2RCBoatsAL
Thanks guys for the responses. I'm starting to figure out it's not cheap to get into for a decent hull/motor combo.
It's a bit of initial cost, but very inexpensive to run and maintain.
Jul 11, 2016, 03:35 PM