Jun 09, 2016, 01:43 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

First flights today, Yes!!!!

After a long drawn out process of ordering a plane that is lost in the mail, so in the mean time I ordered a Sport Cub S only to find my Tx won't bind with it so I then ordered a DX6 and finally,,, I had my maiden flight! It was a blast, the beginner mode on the Sport Cub S is exactly what I need right now and the DX6 is awesome as well! The wind started picking up and the plane would just keep climbing so I wold cut power and just soar! After getting scared I may lose the plane, I started practicing take offs and landings. I had some good landings but also some bad ones and one light "crash" into the high grass! All in all I had a great time I just have to figure out how to set my trim.

I was taking lessons for my sport pilot license but back surgery put that on the back burner, this hobby is almost as fun as that!!!

Well thanks for listening
Jim
to remove ads between posts
Jun 09, 2016, 03:11 PM
That is great news. You did well to buy the DX6 and program it to go with your HZ SCS. Both are wonderful choices.

Starting out can be a little scary. If in the air Altitude is your friend. If landing, tall grass is pretty friendly too.

When I started out I took off of pavement, and flew about 100 feet and landed in grass. No turns...nothing fancy....just up and down. Then went baby steps from there. A little higher...A little farther...A Zig Zag...A turn (to learn to coordinate rudder and elevator) and land. Making a circle then land. and so forth. Worked for me.

And I progressed thru SAFE in this way.

1. Beginner in low rates
2. Beginner in high rates
3. Intermediate in Low rates
4 Intermediate in High rates
5. Advanced in Low Rates
5. Advanced in High Rates.
Jun 09, 2016, 03:45 PM
yank and bank!!
Congrats..... this hobby is great!!
Jun 09, 2016, 07:09 PM
Closed Account