Thread Tools
Aug 24, 2016, 03:18 PM
Registered User
czajunia's Avatar
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by unfranc
hi,

can be precisely adjust the final charge? ex = 4.10 or 4.15 instead of 4.20

thank
No, that's not possible I am afraid. You can only change battery type (chemistry) and each of them has preset end voltage.

Name: IMG_20160824_211041 (1).jpg
Views: 63
Size: 208.9 KB
Description:
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 25, 2016, 10:36 AM
Registered User

How to update firmware?


I just bought a SC-608 150W from Aloft Hobbies and have made multiple cables to connect batteries in, and adapters to connect to different power sources. Seems to work great so far. Well, at least it hasn't gone up in smoke yet!

I find it very useful for charging my 2S lipos as used in many of the Horizon Hobby UMX models. I charge them either from a 12 volt source or a 6S lipo providing input power to the SC-608

The exhaustive instructions provided do not even mention the update port available on the charger nor the special USB module for doing the update. Who sells that USB module besides Shenzhen ISD Technology Co. Ltd in China? Will something like this be OK?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/4009574...&ul_noapp=true

Or do I have to buy the real thing because it has some additional "smarts" inside,

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/iSDT-...e35a9a15&tpp=1

Also, what is the update procedure? I assume you connect the USB module to your computer then connect the USB module to the SC-608 with a mini stereo cable. Then what do you do ? If you open the update software is the connection from computer to SC-608 established automatically? If someone has actually performed this process, let us know what the steps are.

Regards,
Ken
Last edited by e-flight-Ken; Aug 25, 2016 at 11:21 AM. Reason: Added more info
Aug 25, 2016, 02:36 PM
Registered User
The manuals are available as PDFs on their site.

http://download.isdt.co/pdf/SC-608_en_v1.1.701.pdf
http://download.isdt.co/pdf/SC-620_en_v1.1.701.pdf
Aug 25, 2016, 03:29 PM
Registered User

Firmware update..


petter_f,

I don't know if you were responding to my post above, but in any event there is no information in the online manuals about updating the firmware.

The SC-608 manual doesn't even mention the update port on the SC-608. The SC-620 manual at least calls out the port but doesn't offer any insight or information about the update process. That's why I've asked for info from our knowledgeable Forumites.

Ken
Aug 25, 2016, 04:59 PM
Registered User
czajunia's Avatar
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by e-flight-Ken
Also, what is the update procedure? I assume you connect the USB module to your computer then connect the USB module to the SC-608 with a mini stereo cable. Then what do you do ? If you open the update software is the connection from computer to SC-608 established automatically? If someone has actually performed this process, let us know what the steps are.
Not sure if you have seen this but if you go back a few posts you will find my tutorial which may help you a bit: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...2&postcount=32
Aug 25, 2016, 05:31 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Just for info, I bought the proper iSDT Linker cable from Alibaba Express.
About US$7 including delivery and it arrived in a week.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/iSDT...08.0.56.z2OXWj

Just plug in the cable, download the firmware and run it. Was totally painless if you do not want to make up your own USB/serial cable.

John
Aug 25, 2016, 06:06 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by czajunia
Not sure if you have seen this but if you go back a few posts you will find my tutorial which may help you a bit: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...2&postcount=32
Oops! I thought read everything on this thread but I must have skipped over your tutorial. But earlier today I already decided to take the easy way out and ordered the USB adapter from AliExpress. I don't have any of the parts "lying around" that you recommended for fabricating one.

jj604 (John),

I prefer the painless way so I spent about 10 bucks and ordered the adapter as stated above.

Ken
Aug 27, 2016, 07:35 PM
Registered User
ping www.isdt.co
PING www.isdt.co (127.0.0.1): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=0.066 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.074 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.074 ms
^C
--- www.isdt.co ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 0.066/0.071/0.074/0.004 ms

It's directioning the site to the localhost IP.....
Aug 29, 2016, 03:24 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by diego.giovany
ping www.isdt.co
PING www.isdt.co (127.0.0.1): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=0.066 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.074 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.074 ms
^C
--- www.isdt.co ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 0.066/0.071/0.074/0.004 ms

It's directioning the site to the localhost IP.....
LOL looks like the dev checked in his/hers local web.config settings pointed to localhost.....
Aug 30, 2016, 03:32 AM
hyperscorpic's Avatar
My LCD backlight died
The screen is super dim, and adjusting the brightness doesn't change at all. Kinda sad, as I bought the 608 as a travel charger, and now I can't use it anymore
Aug 30, 2016, 02:44 PM
AMA Member # 458448
lcc014's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyperscorpic
My LCD backlight died
The screen is super dim, and adjusting the brightness doesn't change at all. Kinda sad, as I bought the 608 as a travel charger, and now I can't use it anymore
If you buy it from Banggood.com, you could try to email them for support. Or contact iSDT directly for support. You are in Singapore, should be closer than us in US or Europe.
Aug 30, 2016, 09:22 PM
hyperscorpic's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcc014
If you buy it from Banggood.com, you could try to email them for support. Or contact iSDT directly for support. You are in Singapore, should be closer than us in US or Europe.
Yeah I emailed iSDT. Let's see how they reply...
Aug 31, 2016, 08:11 PM
Registered User
Beancounter's Avatar
I can never figure this out, can anyone tell me how many amps i could charge a 6s 3300 lipo with this ;power supply 350w 25 amp

https://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...power%20supply

Thanks
Aug 31, 2016, 08:32 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
The power supply is 350 watts
Allow say 20% loss in the charger (ie 80% efficient)
The charger can therefore output 250x0.8 = 280 Watts

A 6S is 6x4.2 = 25.2V at end of charge.
So maximum current the charger can supply is

280/25 in round figures

= 11.2 Amps

Thats a bit over a 3C rate for a 3300mAh LiPo.

In practice you will do a bit better since the current can be higher when the LiPo voltage is lower.

You will almost certainly be able to set the charge at 12 Amps.

All this assumes your CHARGER can deliver the current and power of course. It needs to be capable of 12Amps and 280 watts output minimum. The SC-620 can but the SC-608 cannot.


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools