May 26, 2016, 04:28 PM
Thread OP
Help!

ESCs and flight controller not communicating properly

I've encountered a problem that I've been stuck on for the past few days and it's beginning to get frustrating. I just want to get this damn thing in the air.

So it's my first build and I'm using the FlySky FS-TH9X and KISS FC.

I've connected the motors and ESCs together and tested them with a servo tester and it works, so no issues there. I then connected them to the FC and the receiver to the FC and that's where the problem seems to lie.

The Rx and Tx bound successfully so I know that the Tx is talking to the Rx but when I go into the KISS GUI and view the 'data output' which shows the values for the throttle, pitch, roll and yaw, nothing shows up when I move the sticks.
It's as if the flight controller isn't communicating properly with the ESCs or the Rx.

I've tried to arm it but that doesn't work either.

Where am I going wrong?
to remove ads between posts
May 26, 2016, 05:25 PM
FA3PR9WM79
Did you calibrate the radio to the flight controller?
May 26, 2016, 06:09 PM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldgazer
Did you calibrate the radio to the flight controller?
Turns out my ESCs were incorrectly connected to the FC. Once I switched them, the ESCs gave 5 beeps as opposed to the 3 beeps I always used to get.

The only thing left is to correctly wire the Rx to the FC.

I haven't done any calibration of sorts. I can't actually arm the quadcopter in order to do the ESC calibrations, probably because I have the Rx setup wrong.
May 26, 2016, 07:08 PM
FPV is not a Crime
You have it set for ppm in the GUI, but you are using PWM. Change that and you should be good to go.
May 27, 2016, 02:02 PM
Thread OP