This thread is privately moderated by jmxp69, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
May 02, 2016, 09:47 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

X-UAV Mini Talon Build

I recently finished a My Twin Dream build which is going through shakedown flights now. With its crazy battery capacity and flight time, the MTD is my distance/sight seeing plane. I've been interested in the Mini Talon for a while now and when I found it on Banggood for $54 shipped I couldn't pass it up. The following is my build log for the Mini Talon.

I'm just getting started. The parts below are in-hand or ordered. I'll post pics as I progress through the build.

Configuration
3D Printed parts: CUFLYN's Vector/GPS/RX mounts, Mark's skids, and a pitot tube mount not shown.

I think I got a little spoiled with the MTD. It's quite a bit larger inside than the Mini-Talon. Still managing to get everything stuff inside, but it's a snug fit.

The FPV pod seems a little over engineered to me. I did away with the mid-deck and trimmed the side supports quite a bit. I'm not planning on running an HD recorder on this plane at the moment. I set this up for a flight camera on pan and tilt.

I secured the FPV pod like the fuse cover. Blind nuts on scrap plywood, glued to the fuse under the front deck.

Still stuck waiting for USB cable before I can mount the Vector and still tidying up wires.

Roughed-in the VTX. I'll be adding a heatsink, making a path for the wiring to the Vector and adding some double sided tape to the bottom when I'm ready for final placement. I used a heated brass tube to bore a hole from the VTX to the antenna location on the wing. I enlarged that with a carbon fiber tube until the hole was big enough to slide the coax connector from the wing location to the VTX. So the antenna wire is neatly tucked into the wing.

Here's a look from the bottom. I went a little too far once while boring the hole so I have a nick on the opposite side of the antenna. I'll patch that with some foam-tac foam finish.