Apr 27, 2016, 12:56 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

50 cm super simple Horten wing

I am new here, so hello everyone!

I want to present my design of a simple Horten style flying wing. It is made out of a single sheet of xps foam. The "airfoil" is created by bending the sheet in one place. This bend also stiffens the wing and creates necessary twist (evident when looking from the back).

The design was done mainly by trial and error, with many prototypes made of foam and paper in various scales. I think that in current form, dihedral might be a bit excessive. Neverthelesss, the plane is rock-stable and achieves a glide ratio of around 15. With speed of about 3m/s and tip chord of 2cm, the Reynolds number is extremely low.

I will be thankfull for any opinions, criticism or suggestions for improvement. I have some experience with XFLR5, is it applicable to such small RE range?

Kind regards,
David Ziemkiewicz
to remove ads between posts
Apr 27, 2016, 01:48 PM
Everything's A Composite
You accomplish wing twist and cambered to symmetrical airfoil with a single crease........Pretty clever.
Apr 28, 2016, 02:42 PM
Thread OP
Thanks!

Here's a quick simulation of the wing in XFLR5. The lift distribution indeed resembles a bell, but the span efficiency seems poor and Cl/Cd is significantly underestimated The root airfoil is not derotated, so alpha of -3 deg refers to the tip.
Apr 30, 2016, 01:02 PM
B for Bruce
Quote:
I have some experience with XFLR5, is it applicable to such small RE range?
Some of the calculations will be valid and others not so much.

In particular the airfoil performance estimates at the Reynolds numbers below around 60K become more a guess and trend than anything you want to trust. That's shown by the typically highly ragged curves produced by the calculations at these lower values.
Apr 30, 2016, 08:21 PM
*many* have built and sucessfully flown Hortens (albeiit at moderate to low speeds :-) using Flat sheet wings.