Apr 04, 2016, 10:39 AM
Thread OP
Help!

Carbon fiber for wing repair

Unfortunatly I crashed my Gabby last Saturday and have a "crack" on the top and bottom of one fo the wings. I want to do a reapir with carbon cloth and epoxy but don't have a clue what to use. Any advise would be appreciated.

What type of carbon fiber? It will be on a compound curve as I want to wrap from the top of the wing to the bottom.

What type of epoxy?

Do you only use one layer or multiple?
to remove ads between posts
Apr 04, 2016, 11:08 AM
How much of a hurry are you to do this? I will be at the Sunset Beach event later this month and would be happy to take a look at it. I've done these types of repairs on many giant scale composite airplanes as well as sailplanes. I also do composites for a living.

That being said, the most common carbon fabric available and least costly is 5.7 oz plain weave. That may be overkill for what you are doing and in fact you may not need to use CF at all. As far as epoxies go, everyone has their favorites. I have found that Tap Plastic's Marine grade epoxy works really well for our applications and its local to you. If you can wait, I would be more then happy to bring some different materials,make a look at the wing and in general give you some tips on how I would proceed.
Apr 06, 2016, 12:54 PM
AMA 353531
Big Gabby or little Gabby?
Apr 07, 2016, 09:58 AM
Thread OP
2M GAbby E from NSP.
Apr 07, 2016, 10:35 AM
A picture of what you need to repair would help.
Latest blog entry: Is-4 Jastrzab Build
Apr 07, 2016, 11:58 AM
Pompano Hill Flyers
FYI,
If you need small amounts of carbon fiber check out Graves Hobbies, they stock from light to heavy, I purchased some fabric not to long ago for a boom repair.
Apr 07, 2016, 04:57 PM