Vector Waypoint Usage and Support - Page 20 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by JohnET, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Oct 27, 2017, 10:36 AM
Wreckonnaissance Airlines
I want to fly long-range, fully-autonomous Waypoint Missions. I'm leaning toward buying the Vector Flight Controller, but I noticed the following in the Vector User Guide:
"Note that even with expanded ranges, if lost radio link is detected, waypoint navigation will stop and RTH will be activated, if RTH is configured correctly."
Due to the remote mountainous desert region over which I want fly survey Missions, there won't always be a radio link to the Fixed Wing UAV. Does this fact rule-out the Vector for me or is there a way to disable this radio-link requirement?
Thanks,
Geoff
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 27, 2017, 11:12 AM
I'd be mad without a Taranis!
Rups63's Avatar
I wanted this option also, but it won't happen with Eagletree. You could disable the failsafe in the Vector GUI so that your waypoint mission continues in the event of failsafe, but otherwise there is no way to disable this "feature".
Oct 28, 2017, 01:26 PM
Registered User
wkf94025's Avatar
Arduplane is far more capable for autonomous mapping missions. I have both, and find Vector way too limiting for serious mapping, surveying, etc.

Kelly
Oct 28, 2017, 02:30 PM
I'd be mad without a Taranis!
Rups63's Avatar
I personally am not interested in having it to fly serious mapping or surveying missions - I just wanted to be able to let my Mini Talon reach farther than my radio system was allowing me to, but had the capacity to. I rectified my situation by getting a DragonLink UHF system.
Oct 28, 2017, 03:14 PM
Registered User
wkf94025's Avatar
DL will do the job, assuming correct antennas on both ends.
Oct 28, 2017, 04:17 PM
I'd be mad without a Taranis!
Rups63's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkf94025
DL will do the job, assuming correct antennas on both ends.
You bet it does the job! I now have to be sure that I have enough battery to get back home, as the radio can outfly the capacity my Mini Talon can carry! Point being, waypoint missions are no longer limited by my radio system as they once used to be.
Jan 27, 2018, 04:25 PM
Registered User
opps
Last edited by LazyAce57; Jan 28, 2018 at 11:53 PM.
Feb 15, 2018, 08:40 AM
Registered User
I'm new to the vector I have an arkbird autopilot in my eflite timber the vector does sooooo much more which brings me to a question will the vector auto takeoff from the ground and land yet?
Feb 15, 2018, 08:50 AM
I'd be mad without a Taranis!
Rups63's Avatar
Nope.
Feb 15, 2018, 03:12 PM
Registered User
I was looking around and looks like the apm does it
Feb 15, 2018, 03:13 PM
Registered User
Apm 2.8
Feb 15, 2018, 03:28 PM
I'd be mad without a Taranis!
Rups63's Avatar
Yup. But not the Vector.
Feb 21, 2018, 08:44 AM
Registered User
Do you think the APM 2.8 is better than the vector? Should I have bought the APM??
Feb 21, 2018, 08:56 AM
I'd be mad without a Taranis!
Rups63's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil3162
Do you think the APM 2.8 is better than the vector? Should I have bought the APM??
Depends on what you're looking for. The APM is cheaper and does the same job the Vector does. But it doesn't have a built-in OSD that's really really nice - rather you'll be configuring and making work a MinimOSD. The Vector is super easy to configure - the APM will take some learning, and may be confusing if you're unfamiliar with how autopilots work in general. The APM does have an autolaunch and autland feature (the vector doesn't) - but again, you're learning how to configure and tune it, and it's a feature you'll probably not use all that often anyways.

I've used both. I like both. I cut my teeth on a Vector in terms of using any autopilot, and it was a daunting enough task, just being unfamiliar with how they work. I can't imagine using an APM to learn autopilots - after I knew how they worked and started playing with APM it was much more complicated (but also much more configurable) vs. setting up a Vector.

I don't think you made a mistake buying a Vector. Eagletree stands behind their products, and if you ever have an issue you can just open a support ticket on their website.

I'm going to be building a Skyhunter platform up this spring. I have a new Vector unit and new APM 2.8 unit sitting in the parts drawer. I'll be putting the Vector in the Skyhunter.
Feb 25, 2018, 09:15 AM
Registered User
Thanks for the reply! I'm glad I bought the vector. I learned on the arkbird 2.0 lite and that was a learning curve. The vector is simply amazing now that I've gotten into it!


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools