Mar 19, 2016, 07:26 PM
Thread OP
Question

Which propellers and motors to use for this type of quadcopter?

Hey,

I've never built a quadcopter before, and I need to plan out the one I'm currently working on. This quadcopter will have 'small' propellers for a more aerobactic design. I am aware this means it will be less energy efficient that props with a larger diameter. I plan on using a 4S LiPo.

Could someone help out with the diameter, pitch, and motor rating I should use for this sort of design? I assume the ESC should just be a few amps higher than the motors' maximum capacity, so I should be able to deduce which ESCs to purchase after knowing the motors I'm going for. I'm not sure how to calculate the prop size needed, or necessary motor rating to provide enough lift from those propellers. I am only aware that the propellers will not be considered large, and will be relatively smaller in comparison to some other RC quadcopters. If weight is a variable which needs to be considered, I cannot yet produce and estimate, although I know that the waudcopter will be considered relatively light-weight.

Thanks.
to remove ads between posts
Mar 19, 2016, 07:41 PM
Paramotor&racing MR enthusiast
If you don't know everything you need to know to answer these questions already, then you probably shouldn't be making this class of quad rotor. On the other hand, you seem to have a general outline of the information you need. If you can fill in the information yourself with the hours of research it will take to answer all of these questions, then you may prove you have the patience and faculties necessary to fly one of these class from the start. Good luck!
Mar 19, 2016, 10:04 PM
Aerobatic quads tend to use larger props for the higher thrust to weight ratio that they provide. They will help stabilize the quad with their larger diameter as well, giving a more "floaty" feel. Pitch will also play a large roll in efficiency and thrust.