This thread is privately moderated by exf3bguy, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Mar 19, 2016, 01:42 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

2016 Contest season

This year I decided to do something that some people would think a little crazy. My wife would certainly agree with them but being the wonderful person she is has agreed to support me in this endeavor. Without her on the team this would not be possible as she is my timer/caller. So what is this endeavor you may ask. Well maybe a little history about myself first.

I have been flying R/C for 40 years. In that time I have competitively flown Thermal duration sailplanes, F3B multi task sailplanes, pylon racing, IMAC, pattern and at one time was a sponsored helicopter pilot. During this time I would do one thing for a while and then switch gears and go into something else. At this time in my life I want to compete more for fun as opposed to obsess on just one type of flying. This season I am going to compete in multiple forms of R/C competition. As of now the intent is to compete in the following schedule.

Four thermal duration contests
Four ALES ( electric sailplane ) contests
Four warbird pylon contests
Two IMAC ( giant scale aerobatics ) contests
Two pattern contests

These events are tentatively scheduled and may be changed and I will update the events as we progress on. I will also update with pictures taken at these events and with results on how I did in the event good or bad. There will also be updates that will showcase the airplanes and how they are equipped. The first event is a Thermal Duration contest. For those who are not familiar with this event I will describe in basic terms. TD in a nutshell is flying a sailplane for a certain length of time to the second ending in a spot landing. You receive points based on how accurate your flight time is loosing points for being under or over the time. Landing points are awarded by being as close to a target as possible. So let's get started with the equipment.