Feb 17, 2016, 10:12 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Looking for input on my next multi

Hey everybody, I was hoping to get some thoughts on my next quad/multirotor purchase. I put it in this forum because the size range I'm looking for, but maybe it should be in the beginner page? I'm not a beginner but my experience is still fairly limited at this point in time!

I've narrowed it down to either a JJRC X1, or a hmx 280, but I'm open to other suggestions! I guess I'm looking for the one that's sort of between a toy quad & a hobby quad, if such a thing exsists? I know most are going to say both those quads are too fast for a beginner. I'm not exactly that, I have a couple entry level hobby grade ones, for right now tho I consider them to be too big and complicated and/or broken/busticated. I want small(ish), simple, & quick!

What I'm looking for:
Fpv
180-300mm
Speed & agility! Aka: quickness!!!!!
Alt hold would be cool but not necessary. Is it available as an add on, or is it only available with GPS? Need to research this.
Less than $300 total RTF would be cool but I have a Turnigy 9x Tx so bnf might work depending on what it is. But if possible I'd prefer a simpler Tx for the time being. TheX1 is pretty basic looking.
At least 10 min + flight time(obviously more would be better).

My daydream for this is to be able to do 'freestyle fpv'. Fast, acrobatic, overall just craziness & fun. That would be after I get my skills honed on the new one flying at the lowest rate of course...

What I DON'T need:
Long range capable
GPS
Large payload
Pro photo/vids equipment or capability to carry.
Complicated Tx -yes I consider the Turnigy 'complex', although I'm still 'trying' to 'learn' about 'it'. But I don't wanna!