This thread is privately moderated by Pappyjkns, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Feb 12, 2016, 12:32 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

R/C Diary Pt.2

Spring 2015:
I found this broken sailplane that had been squirrelled away in the crawl/storage space of our house. I honestly can’t remember where or when I acquired this plane. I have a vague memory of trying to hand launching it whereby it promptly dove straight into the dirt and snapped the nose off. The covering was quite hideous, so I stripped the covering off the fuselage, repaired the nose & recovered with bright yellow Ultracote.

I took it to our soaring field and gave it a few hand launches. It seemed to float along pretty well, so I figured the balance must have been okay. The club instructor had set up a hi-start line & was using it to get his gentle lady up into the air. I asked him if he would take my “Sophisticated Lady” up for its maiden flight. I have never used a hi-start before and was amazed how much pull was put on the line. He let her go and it immediately performed this high, wide arc to the right then flew upside down before piling straight into the ground, exploding into a cloud of yellow dust! We both looked at each other….what the hell happened?…..no idea. If I ever get ambitious, I may rebuild it. But for now, I have too many other projects on the go.

In October/15 for my 67th birthday, I bought myself a new 10 Channel Futaba T10J programmable, 2.4 Mhz radio transmitter and receiver. This was a big step up from my older 72 Mhz radios.

I didn’t get much flying time in 2015. We were out west to Alaska & Tsawwassen for a month in May/June, then we had to get ready for my wife’s hip operation and recovery period which basically killed the summer & fall flying weather. Then I managed to strain the MCL in both knees! Baah!