This thread is privately moderated by Pappyjkns, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Feb 11, 2016, 08:13 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

My R/C Diary Blog

R/C Diary

Well, this is a first, I've never done a blog before but I had started up a diary offline and decided what the hey.....maybe this could be a blog? So here goes nuttin' It's quite long, so I'm going to break it up into parts until I get caught up to the present.

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away……I use to fly R/C gas models. It was probably some 35+ years ago and actually joined MAAC….#10277. At the time, I just flew high wing, three channel beginner planes with .40cc gas engines. I joined The Flying Tigers, a local R/C club but somehow, life intervened and I lost touch with the hobby.

Fast forward, to 2013, I had been re-connected with my oldest brother who was an avid modeller. Due to a blotched knee surgery, he was confined to a wheelchair. Consequently, he was selling off his collection of model planes. One of them, a 2 m electric Aspire sailplane caught my eye. I ended up buying the plane, a 4 channel Futaba 72 Mhz radio and a multi-charger.

The Aspire was driven by an older style brushed 550 motor attached to a gear box which was mated to a 12” x 8” Airscrew folding propeller. The original 7 cell, 1,700 Mah, Ni-Cad battery had seen better days and needed to be replaced. I went to the local hobby store to find a replacement. They only had 3,300 Mah Ni-Mh replacements. In my ignorance, I figured…..hey twice the capacity….that’s got to be good right? So I bought two! Later I would find out that these were the wrong batteries for my plane! The batteries weighted in a 15 ozs…..just under a pound! They were probably meant for a racing car! Doh!