Feb 05, 2016, 02:09 AM
Closed Account
Thread OP
Discussion

RC Truck to RC Crawler?

Hello everyone, is it possible to turn an RC Truck into an RC Crawler ONLY in speed?

I have a Traxxas Xmaxx and want to produce very low end speeds out of it. Like 1/4-1mph... basically very slow movements. When I try to do this with my Traxxas it just starts cogging. I'm replacing the 15T 32P pinion with a 11T 32P pinion. But the 54TSpur gear cannot be increased, 54T is max spur gear size.

I am not an expert so I don't know how much is motor and how much is ESC when it comes to creating very low end speeds.

But I need to make this truck go extremely slow otherwise it's not much use to me. Is there any conceivable way to make this happen?

I've loosened the slipper clutch a little and that helps but that takes all your torque out so then it can't roll over a pencil without just revving the pinion. lol So is there anyway around this?

Are there motors that I could replace with the Traxxas? Do I need a motor with a brushes instead of the brushless that it comes with?

I like this truck because it has a lot of real estate for use in my robotics project but I just don't know how to create low speeds in it.
to remove ads between posts
Feb 05, 2016, 08:00 AM
Bash the planet!!
Yes you need a brushed motor and esc. For something as big as the X-maxx I suggest the motor out of 1/8 redcat crawler, I believe it's a 100 turn motor. Should be able to find one on eBay. A cheap hobby wing esc ought to get the job done.
Feb 05, 2016, 09:38 PM
oh that guy
15t motor is way too hot of a motor. About 45 to 55t brushed would get you about where you need I think but that is a freaking big truck so waitwhatsthat's idea about 100t might be right. No idea how that large of a motor acts with the same turns as a smaller style.
Feb 06, 2016, 05:20 AM
Closed Account
Thread OP