Thread Tools
Aug 03, 2004, 06:26 AM
Registered User

Brushless - 2 Motors from 1 ESC ?


Probably an easy question for those in the know - can I run 2 brushless motors from 1 brushless speed controller (amp rating permitting, obviously) ?

I suspect the answer is "no", cos doesn't the ESC do some back sensing from the motor ?

Thanks.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 03, 2004, 06:55 AM
Registered User
Bill Glover's Avatar
Usually no, but some motor/esc combinations do work ... for example Kontronik sell a "twin drive set" with two motors and a single (normal) ESC which works fine. If you run some searches this crops up fairly often ... you might find other examples of specific setups that have been tried.
Aug 03, 2004, 06:58 AM
Tree Hater
zeuglodon's Avatar
You got it. The answer is "no" for just that reason. That's what was explained to me when I asked about it. I pretty much decided to use brushed motors at that point so I never really got into the wiring aspect of it --- so I'm not sure about BEC. I suspect that if you use a "Y" harness to connect 2 ESC's to your throttle channel they would be running parallel and the voltage would be safe for your radio, but I'll accept the word of someone who understands this better than I do.
Aug 03, 2004, 01:04 PM
Striving to Rip the Bring
raptor22's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeuglodon
You got it. The answer is "no" for just that reason. That's what was explained to me when I asked about it. I pretty much decided to use brushed motors at that point so I never really got into the wiring aspect of it --- so I'm not sure about BEC. I suspect that if you use a "Y" harness to connect 2 ESC's to your throttle channel they would be running parallel and the voltage would be safe for your radio, but I'll accept the word of someone who understands this better than I do.
The wiring would be in parralel; it would not double voltage. So, you use the two ESC's w/ a Y harness.

--Alex
Last edited by raptor22; Aug 04, 2004 at 04:57 PM.
Aug 03, 2004, 01:38 PM
Sussex, UK
RobinBennett's Avatar
Some peple have got it to work, with identical motors. Others have had problems with one motor not starting properly.

There's a video here of it working really well, apparently the poster took no special precautions, it just worked for him.
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...7&page=2&pp=15

Once running, they should be OK if the motors are turning at the same speed. If one is slightly slower it should draw a bit more power to keep it in sync, but if they get wildly out of sync the controller will get confused.

Robin
Aug 03, 2004, 02:33 PM
EDF Head
Haldor's Avatar
Two BL (sensorless) can operate on one ESC but what limit success is start-up of both motors. Once running they run in perfect sync and the ESC see only "one". The key is getting a ESC with appropriate (tolerant) start-up algorithms. Using two identical motors is important, also keeping the motorwires (the pair of three) identical in length.

Some combos work, others dont. By reports here on the Ezone Kontronik ESC's offer the greatest chance of success. Motorbrand is less important, ESC is the key.

One can only parallell such a system so your ESC need atleast 2x amp rating of one motor/load.
Aug 03, 2004, 07:49 PM
Speed Demon
GregG's Avatar
Who carries the Kontronic ESC's?
Aug 03, 2004, 08:03 PM
Registered User
Greg,

You can get them from Perry at AeroMicro, although I have always bought mine used here on the 'zone.

My success rate for twins is 100% Kontronik, 0% other (CC, TMM, Jeti).

= Mike
Aug 04, 2004, 05:27 AM
Registered User
It works! Just do it!
Scott
Aug 04, 2004, 11:21 AM
Registered User
I made 2 CD motors for a friend and they start and run perfectly on a Tsunami 10 in its default 'mode3' setup. They both have the same number of turns and are connected in parallel (how else?!). I wanted him to connect the same winds together (A to A, B to B etc) but he forgot so we're not sure if he did this or if this is important or not. He now wants a 4 engined model on one ESC; oh no, my fingers are sore!
David.
Aug 04, 2004, 02:45 PM
Registered User
Bill Glover's Avatar
According to Castle Creations it is not possible to run two brushless motors from one ESC ... well, theirs anyway

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=259943
Aug 04, 2004, 03:20 PM
Registered User
My P10 and P25 work just fine with 2 motors and one controller. I know several others running them this way with no problems.

Tracy Hill
Conversion motor works
Aug 04, 2004, 08:08 PM
Registered User
And I've tried both the P10 and P25 in dual configurations with consistently poor results. I can say for sure they don't reliably start Astro or Mega motors like this.

Perhaps a better way to state it is like this:

Castle Creations explicitly say that their controllers are not designed to run more than one motor in parallel.

Kontronik explicitly say that their controllers are designed to run more than one motor in parallel (and they sell a product based on this).

= Mike
Last edited by DrZiplok; Aug 04, 2004 at 08:12 PM.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Two BL motors from 1 brushless ESC..? bpm Electric Motor Design and Construction 6 Aug 27, 2007 09:36 AM
Question 2 motors on 1 esc? jhspring Power Systems 2 Dec 18, 2006 04:43 PM
Discussion Can you run 2 brushless motors from 1 ESC??? SGTalon Power Systems 1 Jun 30, 2006 09:20 AM
HELP....2 small brushless tail motors for one ESC>??? -=PLanE CrazY=- Parkflyers 6 May 08, 2005 02:28 PM
Brushless 2 motors one ESC MartinL Power Systems 1 Jun 03, 2002 09:44 PM