A-380 largest electric propulsion rc plane ever built - RC Groups
Jan 29, 2016, 09:25 PM
full time builder
Build Log

A-380 largest electric propulsion rc plane ever built

This plane was shown on Jimmy Fallon’s show on 1/8/16 and there seems to be interest in some information about the plane. The owner of the plane thought it might be good to make some of the information we learned available to anyone thinking of a large build project.

I agreed to scratch build this plane. The following 14 months were exciting and filled with problem solving at a level I had never seen before. I am a life-long builder, and have been in the business full-time for 15 years building all sorts and sizes of airplanes. My company has been fortunate enough to build planes of all sizes and types, such as Crack Yaks, ARF planes of all sizes, wood, foam, composites, gas and electric. We constructed the electric Bauer Concorde that flew at Jets over KY a few years ago. We have done many other one-of-a-kind, high end planes for private clients that enjoy unusual custom made planes. Additionally, I have stayed at a Holiday Inn so what could possibly go wrong?

At present the A-380 is parked at its home hangar awaiting the motors. The plane is done except for the motors, and the balancing and sizing of the landing gear system. On the TV show there was a miscommunication and you likely got the impression that the plane has flown. The discussion was about the planes in the collection rather than about this particular plane.

So here goes a build thread for the plane. There are lots of stories to be told, by people you know that helped in this giant undertaking. I will show you the hows of the build and I am guessing the stories will come from those that helped with it. I am Brian and my company is Dream RC Airplanes Inc.
to remove ads between posts
Jan 29, 2016, 09:27 PM
full time builder

Rules for this thread