Jan 18, 2016, 09:50 PM
Suspended Account
Thread OP
Whoops!

Robots 'will eliminate 5 million jobs by 2020'...

ROBOTS 'WILL ELIMINATE 5 MILLION JOBS BY 2020'...

"Over five million jobs will be lost by 2020 as a result of developments in genetics, artificial intelligence, robotics and other technological change, according to World Economic Forum research.

About 7 million jobs will be lost and 2 million gained as a result of technological change in 15 major developed and emerging economies, WEF founder Klaus Schwab and managing board member Richard Samans said in "The Future of Jobs." The findings are taken from a survey of 15 economies covering about 1.9 billion workers, or about 65 percent of the world’s total workforce."

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articl...5-million-jobs
Jan 18, 2016, 10:37 PM
I'm still waiting on the 'paperless office'.
Jan 18, 2016, 10:37 PM
I am a old machinist (back in 70s) , we were told the same thing then ,so i went back to school in 80 to get a degree in electronics , industrial automation was code for "robots" back then , i ended up at Cincinnati Milacron , i installed large automation projects all over the world , one thing became clear , the large union factories were not going to let union workers be replaced by Robots/Automation .
We did a lot of business with non union plants , i have been kicked out of many large union manufacturing plants over problems with the union being upset at how much faster the automation was compared to the union employees . The unions fought the upgrades all the way , they won a lot of the time . We routinely slowed down the equipment to satisfy union reps . The "Robot Boom " of the 80s and 90s never was a big as predicted . I do believe there are less union factories now , still , by 2020 ........dont think so , but i dont know
Jan 18, 2016, 10:42 PM
Closed Account
Are we sure there will be any jobs left by then for them to take?