Jan 10, 2016, 05:32 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

O.M.G what went wrong with my QR X350 Pro

Hi Guys & Girls..
i am an absolute novice to this whole RC thing, but loved the idea of having a drone and filming the landscape where i live on a small island in the middle of the mediterranean.
I bought a Walkera QR X350 Pro + Devo 10 Transmitter, G-2D Gimble and of course my trusty Go-Pro Hero 3+
I also ordered 2 of the 6600mah batteries to give the best flying time & a 2200mah lipo for the devo 10.

Anyway long story short, i have been playing indoors for a few days just to get the feel of operating the quad, hovering over the bed (for a soft crash landing) and practising the minute movements required to keep it stationary.

Today however is the first time i have taken it outsde,
It was a beautiful day, just a very slight breeze, but not enough to be an issue.
i made sure i followed all the guides i have watched, All batteries fully charged, Calibrated, waited for GPS light etc, then i decided to try a safe take off in GPS hold mode, I throttled up to approx 50% the quad took off vertically, then without any input from me it suddenly shot off to the right at quite a speed, i seemed to have no control over it at all except for throttle which i tried to ease down gently, but then it just dropped HARD into a field 50 metres away !!
Result = 1x Broken leg, 2x Bent Propellors, Gimble rubber dampers broken
Main body popped open a little.

What the hell happened ?
I can replace the broken parts easily enough, but i'm going to be Scared Sh****ss to try flying it again
Should i be updating software or changing something ? should i not have taken off with GPS hold engaged ?
Looks like this is going to be a hard / expensive learning curve
to remove ads between posts
Jan 10, 2016, 06:41 PM
I void warranties
Quote:
Originally Posted by stupeo
should i not have taken off with GPS hold engaged ?
Of course not!!! You should ALWAYS ALWAYS take off in manual mode.