Jan 07, 2016, 09:25 AM
Non Fragosus
Thread OP
Discussion

1909 Wright Military Flyer - Dare Kit - Pat Tritle design

This is my first balsa build, so I expect to learn a lot and undoubtedly make a few mistakes. Some of the pressure is off, since I am building it as a static model since my wife wants to hang it in our living room. I hope that does not disqualify this thread from the forum. Also. a disclaimer, since I am a first time builder, I undoubtedly will include things that people are experienced will consider obvious.

The specs for the kit:
Wing Span: 41.5"
Plane Length: Length: 31.75"
Wing Area: 530 sq. in.
Weight: 14.1 ounces.
Wing loading: 3.8 oz/sq. ft.

The Dare kit features all laser cut parts, covering tissue, full size plans, AAA quality balsa and hardwoods, according to the Brodak website which currently sells the kit.

The first step was opening the box and taking an inventory of the contents.

I separated the balsa and basswood sticks and matched them against the parts list that come with the plans. It listed parts by dimension first and then description. It might have been easier for me as a beginner had the list put all the 1/8 sticks together, the 3/32 sticks together, the 1/4 sticks together. As it was, it jumped around on sizes and I had to go back and forth trying to match the parts to the list. The other thing that threw me at first was the fact that all the sticks were longer than the description, some substantially so, but then I realized that they are just cutting them off stock balsa and they will be as long as the stock. Also, not having had any experience at this, I had to look very closely to distinguish the balsa from the basswood sticks - yes, that's how much of a beginner I am.

When I got done grouping and labeling the sticks, I had two sticks left over. I went over everything again, twice, to make sure I hadn't missed something. Better to have a part or two extra, than be short a part.