Dec 31, 2015, 04:38 PM
Thread OP
Help!

Eflite Apprentice went inverted in beginner mode

I was in beginner mode. Shortly after takeoff, probably less than 15 seconds, I began turning to the left. It began turning as usual but when it had turned just over 90 degrees to the left it rolled over and began flying inverted. I hit the panick button and makde sure it was in mode 0 but nothing changed. The rudder and elevators were responding but the ailerons were not. It was locked into perfectly level inverted flight. I thought the servo wire may have become disconnected. It was headed towards houses but still over a field with trees, and since I have very little inverted flight experience, I cut throttle and let it crash. Thankfully it slowed and hit some trees and the only damage is tearing of the Styrofoam wings where the plastic reinforcements are.

I went to the area where it crashed but was unable to find it at first. I tried moving the ailerons but there was no sound at all, further leading me to believe the servo cable had disconnected. After hitting the throttle a couple times I found it and was able to shake it out of the tree. The ailerons were jittering like they do when they're trying to keep level in beginner mode, but they were trying to keep it inverted and ignoring the transmitter. Normally, in beginner mode, inverting the plane causes the ailerons to go into a full left or right roll. Something caused this thing to forget its orientation. I did a power cycle and had no more problems for about 10 minutes of flight before I went back home. I've emailed eflite about it and am hoping for some info from them to troubleshoot or maybe tell me what went wrong.

Does anyone have any advice, experience, etc? It seems safe to fly but I'm worried it might happen again. I've owned it about a month and it has maybe 3 hours flight time on it.
to remove ads between posts
Dec 31, 2015, 06:31 PM